top of page
  • Review by Dorothy Requina

Five Dark Fates by Kendare Blake


4.5 stars! Spoiler free for this book, but may contain spoilers from the previous books!


Summary:

The finale book in the Three Dark Crowns series by Kendare Blake. The conclusive clash of all the queens, all the main players in this long battle of wills and battle for the island.


Thoughts:

This one just blew me away, my favorite of the entire series for sure! Kendare really weaved her own magic to bring all the different histories, and truths, and destines together into this finale.

The pacing of the story was well done.

The dialogue included some funny and witty moments interspersed amongst the heavy political talk and serious battle planning.

The plot brought everything together in a realistic, magical, and heart wrenching way.

You could find yourself rooting for every single side in this story, you understood where each person in this book was coming from and you wanted everyone to succeed, but of course that isn’t how things happen in real life.

What reeeeaally made me love this book was the WOW chapters that were 36-40 I believe. I felt my heart get ripped out during reading these chapters, and I felt the snowball effect that was meant to transpire in the aftermath. I felt the fate of the island shift in that moment and I was floored. I was in tears. It was my favorite aspect of this book even though it was one of the saddest parts.

And despite the tears, the ending just gives you so much hope for the future. The future of the island and the people and those that survived the war. It was just a very satisfying epilogue.

Overall, though this book was my highest rated on the 4 in the series, I’d give the Three Dark Crowns series overall 3.5 stars. I think could have been done in 3 books rather than 4, but I’m glad I have finally read them all. Three Dark Crowns series is not necessarily in my top faves, but enjoyable overall. This may be a good series to recommend to anyone who is dabbling in fantasy and wants to start approaching the more complicated fantasy set ups and seeing how well they stand up to a committing to series that are 3+ books long.



Buy it on Amazon!

Check it out on Goodreads!

17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page