top of page
  • Review by Dorothy Requina

The Merciful Crow by Margaret Owen

~DNF @2 22%~

1 star for what I did read, which albeit, wasn't much... Spoiler free review!

Sorry I just can't go one, every time I think of having to pick up this book to give it just a few more pages, I just do have no desire...

  • The only thing that I liked was the unique magic system.

  • Everything else was just subpar or awkward for me.

  • The main character is bland she doesn't intrigue me or make me want to root for her.

  • The prince is naive, unaware of his privilege, and all of that bothers me immensely.

  • The crows as a clan had an interesting hierarchy because of the magic, but otherwise had strange traditions (like the money dance?).

  • The dialogue was strange and difficult to follow.

  • To top off how bored I was -- the world is minimally fleshed out and the writing is bland.

I really wanted to like this, because it was a duology I wanted to binge and I thought it would give me the creepy death vibes and magical world I was looking for, but nope.

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page