top of page
  • Kendare Blake

One Dark Throne by Kendare Blake


3.8 stars! This review will be spoiler free, but will contain spoilers for Three Dark Crowns!

Synopsis:

This is the second book in the Three Dark Crowns series by Kendare Blake. The girls have begun the their acension year and each are ready to cut throats! Mirabella thinks Arsinoe tried to kill her and wants revenge. Arsinoe is a poisoner and wants to explore her newfounded gift. Katharine is back from the dead? Now, we let the killing begin!

Initial thoughts:

First I want to say that this was darker, grittier, and lovelier than book one and that made it all the better! There's death and not from those you'd expect. There's action and suspense, it keeps you on the edge of your seat. There's family and friends and they make you care so so so much. Especially within the naturalist community. This world is growing! There's so much we still don't know about the magic of the island and how the traditions come to be. Things are starting to play out that I didn't see coming. & The characters! I care about almost all of them, they have made their way into my heart and now I don't even know what will become of them in the next installment. That ending was crazy! So much went down, so many choices (by all characters) were made that I didn't see coming, and you're just left with a feeling of "what just happened...?" The abruptness of the last part bothered me a bit, but I'm glad it ended on such an open note. Like who knows where Kendare is going to take it next? Can't wait for the next book!

Plot:

What I Liked

That darkness! That suspenseful creepiness! That feeling of unknown! This book was a whole lot darker than book one. Katharine’s new persona also adds this weird, but interesting sense of creepiness to the story. Like “what happened to this poor child for her to have changed SO much?!”

The complexity of the world seems to only be the beginning. We’re stuck asking ourselves so many questions the whole book. Left in the dark almost the whole book. Left in anticipation to have our questions answered and the darkness cleared, but once it does, we have even MORE questions! I still do not know what the island truly wants.

The drama! The suitors definitely know how to spice things up. Katharine definitely makes some interesting choices in her love life that I didn’t expect. I actually almost never knew what to expect when it came to Katharine.

The relationships, friendships, and sisterly bonds are done so well in this book. Mirabella initially feels so betrayed by Arsinoe. Arsinoe still loves her sister dearly, but doesn’t know how to explain her actions at Beltane. Billy freakin’ Chatworth is GOLD. He is so utterly sweet to Arsinoe and knows how to be a friend even to his enemies. He’s so purely good. Arsinoe is willing to do whatever she can to support Mirabella as she knows something is wrong with Katharine. Mirabella is willing to do whatever she can to keep Arsinoe alive.

Lastly, the pacing of the book was perfect. There were the perfect amounts of slow pauses for dramatic effect to coincide with the fast paced heart wrenching action. Ugh, Kendare knows how to keep to rapt in the storyline.

What I Didn’t Like So Much

The writing was, in a few occasions, rushed. There were a few parts as I was reading that kind of left me confused, like, what was the point of this one chapter? It added nothing and passed by so quickly.

And then… there was some… really just not thought out “reasoning” going on. The plot occasionally seemed muddled due to the fact that I couldn’t honestly believe certain people believed certain ideations. Which probably makes absolutely no sense because I’m trying not to be spoilery right now. Basically what I mean is, the way certain things were reasoned out by the characters just made me think… “wow, is that really what you think… that can’t really be what you think?”

Then there was this one part in the end that I TOTALLY was not for. Not one bit. I hope Kendare makes up for it in the next book.

Characters:

MIRABELLA is a sweetheart with the most violent gift. The juxtaposition of her personality and her abilities works so well. I love that she's the loving sister. She's the caring one. It suits her so well.

ARSINOE is aloof and its the best. She has this "act now, consequences later" attitude. Very "give no fxcks" and it's the best. If anyone were to win, I'd be rooting for her at this point.

KATHRINE is freaking crazy. Can't say much more. I have my suspicions about her, let's see if they come true!

JULES is distrustful of basically everyone except Arsinoe whom she guards with all her being. She has new gifts and the question is what she will become and do with them.

JOSEPH is kind of just there for me. I don't know what's going on in his mind with the love triangle but he made me very very sad by the end of this book. You'll see why.

BILLY on the other hand, makes me happy! Him and Arsinoe are the best match. Their feels are so relatable and so cute. I also like that he's very in tune to his emotions and is willing to proclaim his feelings to whomever.

Overall:

Uhm… next book please? The darker, the better!


7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page