top of page
  • Review by Dorothy Requina

The Queen of Nothing by Holly Black

Solid 4 stars. Spoiler free for this finale, but may have spoilers for books one and two.

I'm so happy to finally say I've finished this trilogy. It's such a short, fast paced plot, and fiery romance that I don't know why it took me so long to read this last book, but I'm giddy I've finally added this notch to my belt.


I'm smitten with this trilogy and even with this ending. Was it perfect? definitely not. Was it just a bit too simple? maybe. BUT considering I read it after the hype and knew to go in with lower expectations, I think I was able to enjoy it much more than the larger fanbase.

  • Took a bit to get the ball rolling, but once we were there it was super fast paced and fun

  • The romance STILL had me squealing with excitement. It was still innocent by SJM standards, but sometimes that really works for me in some series. In this one, it was definitely just the right amount of fire in the romance.

  • There was some questionable reasoning for certain decisions in this book that made me give some side eye. Like some things were just explained away and accepted a little too easily.

  • And the characters, omg. I still a fan.

    • DO I STILL LOVE CARDAN? YES. Love him even more in this book, my fave boi.

  • And the thing that everyone agrees with: the ending was quick. It was over just way too fast and solved way too quickly. However, I still felt ultimately satisfied unlike some other readers.

  • Still satisfying to finish the trilogy and the story and post-climax ending truly lived up to the fairytale / fae-like vibes

The trilogy as a whole is a 4 star series too! See my review of the prior books here:



Buy it on Amazon!

Check it out on Goodreads!

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page