top of page
  • Review by Dorothy Requina

The Glass Spare by Lauren DeStefano

2 stars! Spoiler free review!

This book is the *perfect* example of the type of YA fantasy books I think I'm starting to grow out of -- aka the too simple, too immature, too clean type of YA fantasy. Like give me the messy, bloody, morally grey fantasy full of complexities and plot twists (which The Glass Spare was not).


I thought this book was overall an "okay" read. I wasn't in love with it, wasn't in my feels, was basically just moseying along until I got to the ending.

  • The ending I did actually like! It made me feel the smallest spark of something for these characters and smallest spark of interest to read the sequel.

  • I felt like the fantastical elements were simple and definitely similar to the Midas legend, which is alluded to throughout the story. Not much of other kinds of magic, if there were, they literally were just mentioned and not explained (like the alchemy and another magic that I can't even remember the name of)

  • Not much political intrigue though two kingdoms are warring technically.

  • The characters were also quite simple, kinda what you expect to find when you go into this story, they didn't have particularly intricate back stories or anything. I liked them enough, none of them were annoying, but I wasn't rooting for them. I did enjoy that the main female character, Will, was capable and fierce all on her own.

  • The plot was predictable and simple and lacked having significant plot twists? Really there was just the final climax where I was wondering how the characters would get out of their predicament, but even that had a straight forward solution by the end.

Basically, if I didn't already have the sequel/finale on my shelves, I wouldn't have picked it up to finish the duology.



Buy it on Amazon!

Check it out on Goodreads!

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page