top of page
  • Review by Dorothy Requina

The Cursed Sea by Lauren DeStefano

2 stars! Spoiler free for this book, but has spoilers for book one!

So you may already know I only read the sequel because I already own the book and was minimally intrigued enough to want to finish the series. I was also majorly confused by the title of the story "The Cursed Sea" and kinda wanted to know why it was being called that, like are they going to be on the seas much more of this story, how is that possible when there are quests to do and mysteries to solve?


So I went in with much much lower expectations, and turns out I liked this one a little bit more than the first, but barely.

  • There was more development of the characters, their relationships with one another and the familial aspects that were weaved into the story were the saving grace for the whole story for me

    • Other than that, there wasn't much else to look forward to or root for. The family bonds are what held this book a smidge higher than book one.

  • The plot felt all over the place, though it was less predictable, it felt like there was too much trying to happen all at once

  • The pacing felt like overall slow because it felt like nothing was actually happening, but bits and pieces were fast like they were being revealed and subdued almost immediately.

  • The villains, or whoever were supposed to be the villains, were one dimensional. I just did not care about their choices and it was likely because they had no backstory to make me understand where they were coming from

  • The ending wasn't memorable. As I write this review I realize (it's barely a few weeks later) I barely remember more than 4 scenes of the whole story or how it actually ended.

The series was okay overall, I'd give the duology as a whole a 2 star rating -- just okay.



Buy it on Amazon!

Check it out on Goodreads!

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page