top of page
  • Review by Dorothy Requina

The Dragon Republic by R. F. Kuang

5+ stars! Spoiler free for this book, but may contain spoilers from the previous books!

Summary:

Well, a LOT happened in The Poppy War and that leaves our little Rin with the aftermath of what she did to extinguish an entire nation, addicted to opium, and a sole drive to get revenge on the Empress of Nikan who betrayed them and sold the Cike out to the Mugenese. Here’s how she deals with ALL that.

Thoughts:

I FUCKING LOVED THIS. 5 STARS. I’m severely impressed. My jaw has been dropped. I cannot even gather coherent thoughts (even months after finishing the book) to explain to you how much this book has made me fall in love with series all over again.


This book has everything!

A morally grey protagonist who makes you question her decisions and makes you question what you would even do in her situation✔️

And she’s a badass female lead that shows you how she WORKS for her badassness✔️

A plot where literally NOTHING comes easy ✔️

Loveable side characters that you root for ✔️

The bestest of best friendships ✔️

Plot twists, plot turns, plot flips, the fucking BETRAYALS ✔️

Tears, both the characters and yours ✔️

A plot where you cannot predict nearly anything that will happen next ✔️

A plot where no punches are pulled and ALL the gruesome aspects of war and what war brings to a nation are explored✔️

A plot that feels REAL ✔️

Military strategy ✔️

Political intrigue ✔️

Heart break - or more like a shattering ✔️


Need I say more? I know I’m probably missing even more things about this book that I absolutely loved, but you get the gist already. READ IT!


Buy it on Amazon!

Check it out on Goodreads!

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page