top of page
  • Review by Dorothy Requina

Legendary by Stephanie Garber


4 stars! Spoiler free for this book, but may contain spoilers from the previous books!


Summary:

The game has ended and now Scarlet is free to be with Julian and Donatella never has to go back to the retched island and father they want to leave behind. Tella hasn’t told Scarlet everything though, she isn’t quite off the hook. She had to make a bargain with a criminal and it’s about time to for her to deliver her side of the deal: Legend’s real name. Fortunately or unfortunately, a new Caraval just for the Empress is being planned, and if Tella wins, it may be the only chance she has to learn Legend’s name. Though if she does, it may also mean the end to Caraval forever.

Thoughts:

Going into this book, I wasn’t sure how much I’d love it because it was going to be from Tella’s perspective and I wasn’t too keen on her after book one. I think that may be why I put it off for so long, HOWEVER. Even after waiting so long, I fell RIGHT back into this world without problems. I reminded why I enjoyed this magical world, and why I felt attached to these magical characters. And I even started to like Tella once I got to know her side of the story, there was definitely more to her.

Now she definitely is over the top. Her emotions are heightened, so when she feels, she feeeeeeeels. And you get the feels right alongside her. Do I feel like she’s a little over dramatic sometimes? Yes. Do I think her love for bad boys is childish? Just a bit. BUT YENNO, I can’t hate her for it because I was lapping it up the whole time.

The romance was pretty entrancing.

The magic was moody and mysterious, it became much more developed and even more sinister at times giving the overall story a much darker feel.

The plot took you on just enough twists and turn to keep you thinking the whole time about what’s going to happen next.

Then the ending is the cherry on top that just about breaks your heart, shooting you into wanting to pick up Finale (the finale of the series) immediately.

Total of 4 stars for sheer enjoyment of the book and the fun aspect of it all even if the story feels a bit exaggerated at times. Onto book three!

Caraval review | 4 stars

Finale review | 4 stars


Buy it on Amazon!

Check it out on Goodreads!

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page