top of page
  • Review by Dorothy Requina

Finale by Stephanie Garber

4 stars! Spoiler free for this book, but may contain spoilers from the previous books!

Summary:

The Fates are freed. Legend is the new Emperor. The games are over. Now lives, empires, and hearts hang in the balance as Tella and Scarlet each have a part to play to bring this story to it’s *finale.*


Thoughts:

BOY does this story take quite the turn as Finale begins with multiple hearts in shambles and the dawn of a new Emperor. I did not see this story moving in this direction when I was still reading Caraval, but WOW. In this one I didn’t know who to trust, I didn’t know who the real villains were, I didn’t know what to believe in. But I did still root for certain romantic ships and I sorta saw the ending coming towards the end. Despite that, I had a fun time getting there and really enjoyed reading this action and romance packed conclusion.

The writing really came through in this book for me. She gave life to every side character. She gave life even to the settings each character traipsed through. She blended fairytale-like tones with dark enchanting themes, and also used repetition of quotes from prior books well. It was so easy to read and soak up, and once again fall back into this magical world.

Now I’m not saying this book is perfect, it’s by far not. The ending you can see coming by about 60%, the romance is STILL over the top (though I kinda just expect that from these books after Caraval), and the villains aren’t necessarily the most flushed out. But did I enjoy the characters? YES. Did I root for them throughout the whole book? Yes!


Overall, I’d give this trilogy 4 stars as a whole! I liked it a lot and would recommend it to anyone new to fantasy, romance driven, and a lover of carnival like magical tones.


Caraval review | 4 stars


Buy it on Amazon!

Check it out on Goodreads!

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page