top of page
  • Review by Dorothy Requina

Fire by Kristin Cashore

4 stars! Spoiler free review!

Another hit in the Graceling Realm series, this one I think I enjoyed even more than Graceling. I know you don't have to read the books in order as they are companions, but I can reading them in order of publication.

  • Cashore really flexes her world-building in this one. Beautiful and eye-popping monster creatures that have magic themselves. And Fire herself, who has the beauty of a goddess and the power to bewitch anyone, but manages to be the most down to Earth character of them all.

  • I loved Fire as a person and her ever changing role throughout the story. Throughout she encounters different obstacles that show just how strong she is as a person to overcome them, and that sometimes even the strongest need some help sometimes. At one point, she experiences how injury can drastically change your daily routine, and at another she develops depression which just showed how much of a human she can be despite the fact that she's a "monster."

  • I also love the romance between her and Brigan. They are just the perfect pairing together. At first, Brigan really grinded my gears, but the romance DID NOT DISAPPOINT with the slow burn and thus slow to love Brigan just as much as Fire. Cashore has not yet failed me on romances.

  • The plot was even more interesting in this one, felt even more fast paced too (likely because it was a shorter book as well). I docked one star for ultimately being predictable, but there were at least a few twists and turns to keep you flipping the pages. Especially when we get just a small insight into Leck. It was interesting to see the glimpses of Easter eggs referencing the first book because it makes you think, “how is this all going to play out in the future books??”

Onto Bitterblue! I hear this book can be polarizing whether you loved or hated Graceling, but I'm happy to be in the category of I really enjoyed Fire. If you like a slow burn romance, fast paced plot, and have already read Graceling; you may fall into this category too!

 

Read by reviews for other Graceling Realm books!

Review for book 1: Graceling | 4 stars

Review for book 2: Fire | 4 stars

Review for book 3: Bitterblue | 3 stars

Review for book 4: Winterkeep | (on my TBR)

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page