top of page
  • Review by Dorothy Requina

All the Tides of Fate by Adalyn Grace

4.5 stars! Spoiler free for ATTOF, has spoilers for book one!

I definitely like this one even more than the first book, Adalyn Grace did not disappoint when it came to her characters and their emotions and roles, her plot, and her even more flushed out magic in this book.

  • This book felt much more character driven to me and I was definitely okay with that because I really like this mismatched group of pirates.

    • My cinnamon boi Bastian. He is both swoony and sweet. He was

    • The mermaid was just as FIERCE and voluptuous as ever. She literally said, "If chambermaids are the ones who will tear your heart out with their teeth or put up dagger through your eye if you so much as look at the queen wrong, then yes, we're her chambermaids." And I lost it, it was too funny.

    • Of course Amora too, trying to be as level headed as possible. Trying to live through and survive the trauma of book one. Trying to be the best queen she possibly can which maybe for her means not being the one the rest of the country expects. She seemed to really grow throughout this book.

    • And then the last person you'd expect is the one who really breaks your heart in the end. Omg. I nearly cried.

  • The romance was mmmm *chef's kiss* this whole book. Bastian himself made for such a good romance. I LOVED all the small exchanges between him and Amora. He had some of the BEST lines.

    • And can we appreciate the communication between them. They actually TALK. Thank goodness.

  • Witty dialogue.

  • The plot may not have been the strong suit of this book, but it was still a fun ride. The front is that she's trying to find a new husband, but she obviously has her own goals. All while trying not to get murdered by those who would oppose her. Made for plenty of plot twisting moments!

  • The ending... broke my heart. I was only slightly disappointed by how quick it was.

  • The friendship is one of the things that made this book thrive and though there was a lack of communication (a trope I hate) here that forced certain friends apart, I still appreciate the female friendship while it was there.

Honestly a really good duology, and I'll still be impressed that Adalyn was able to pack so much in such short books. I'd give the duology overall 4.25 stars!



Buy it on Amazon!

Check it out on Goodreads!

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page