top of page
  • Review by Dorothy Requina

Trials of Apollo: The Tower of Nero by Rick Riordan

3.5 stars! This review will be spoiler free, but may contain spoilers from previous books!

I'm so glad to have finished this series after waiting so long to binge it. However, I'm also sad to say that this finale didn't hit for me. I still liked it overall, but maybe because the books have been improving since book 2 my expectations were too high? Let get into it:

  • Riding with the classic Riordan writing formula, the story was a fun and easy read. However, the ultimate ending to the book and the series overall did have the “wow factor” I was searching for, given all the build-up you’re experiencing throughout the story. Some conflicts felt like they were solved too easily or without as much struggle as I expected maybe?

  • Apollo still has those amazing one liners that just make you LOL while you’re reading.

  • Apollo and Meg still have the best thriving chosen-sibling relationship.

  • The arrow may possibly be the most underrated character in the entire series?

  • Altogether FUN, yes. But was it groundbreaking, thrilling, heart wrenching? I’d have to say no. Just enjoyable if you will.

  • Lastly, I thought it was proclaimed that this was the last series in the Riordan-Greek-verse, but there were so so so many hints in the last book and this one about possible spin offs with other well-beloved characters??? Why do this to us?? And why with Nico whom ALL OF US LOVE. That’s just torture.

Irked the series didn’t blast me away with an amazing finale, but happy to have completed another well-rounded Riordan Greek/Roman-based series. I will still continue to pick up his book despite knowing his formula. And for GOODNESS SAKES, please give us MORE NICO. Thnx.

 

Peep by review for all the books in the series if you haven't!

Review for book 1: The Hidden Oracle | 5 stars

Review for book 2: The Dark Prophecy | 2.75 stars

Review for book 3: The Burning Maze | 3.75 stars

Review for book 4: The Tyrant's Tomb | 4 stars

Review for book 5: The Tower of Nero | 3.5 stars

9 views0 comments
bottom of page