top of page
  • Review by Dorothy Requina

The Keeper of Night by Kylie Lee Baker

~DNF at 78%~

2 stars for what I did read. Spoiler free review!

There are things that I really liked and for that I am willing to give what I have read 2 stars, but unfortunately, I'm just not loving it enough to continue reading.


What I liked:

  • Mixed race representation

  • Morally grey main character

  • Very very dark world-building

  • Rich Japanese mythology/folklore

Why I DNF'd:

  • I'm not falling in love with the characters, they all seem rather flat outside of the fact that the MC has to deal with the difficulties of being a mixed race character.

  • The love interest was very intense, like not quite instalovey, but intense about his feelings and it was off-putting.

  • Then there's the plot, which felt very monotone and unexciting. The action that was exciting lasted only a short time, then back to monotone boringness.

  • I'm just not excited at all to continuing picking up this book to find out what happens next. So... DNF.

It wasn't horrible, just didn't give me what I needed to push through to the end. And trust me, I REALLY wanted to like this. Really badly.


Thank you so much to Inkyard Press for an ARC for an honest review.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page