top of page
  • Review by Dorothy Requina

The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue by V. E. Schwab

Downgraded from 4 to 2 stars! Spoiler free review!

In the past, I’ve not had much love with liking Schwab books, and I thought I enjoyed this one when I first read it. Maybe because I went into it with very very low expectations (because I heard not a lot of people who’s reviews I generally trust had liked it). But looking back, I think it was okay at best. I wasn’t exactly blown away, but I also didn’t hate it. Solid 2 stars.

What I liked:

  • Beautiful writing! I think even people that don’t like this kind of story would enjoy the writing.

  • The demon who made the deal was intriguing. I so so so wish we got more of him and learned to understand him better. I still can’t tell if it was companionship he wanted, if he was falling for Addie, or if it was selfish possession. But that may be the allure of him?

  • The second half (or possibly more like the last third) was where the plot thickens and we get to see more of the emotion, reckless behavior, and twists and turns. That last third and the ending was my favorite. It was also from the emotions of the ending that I originally thought to give this book 4 stars, but does not deserve it as whole now that I’ve had time to reflect (see below).

What I didn’t like:

  • The beginning of the book was more Addie just living her life how she wants and albeit, kinda poorly and wasteful. I’ve decided now that books like that aren’t for me really — I read a similar prequel book that’s just the MC and side characters growing up/showing how they lived up to the present day, and I didn’t like it.

  • I thought maybe the demon or the romance would add more pizazz to the story, but it didn't.

  • We get it! Her freckles are like stars, whatever that means???

  • No historical references to literally anything??? Which I would have expected given that she lived 300 years.

  • Vanilla ass romance.

    • Henry is forgettable.

    • The demon is where it’s at for me and we didn’t get enough of it.

  • Nearly no representation (again despite 300 years of living) as many other reviews have pointed out.

If the tropes in this book sound like they’re for you and/or you’re a sucker for amazing writing, this may be a hit for you. Not for me though. Annnnnnd... There were so many beautiful editions of this book and I thought I’d enjoy it, but now I have 5 editions of a book I’m just feeling meh about. Don’t do this to yourselves guys!

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page