top of page
  • Review by Dorothy Requina

Recent Manga Reads | #1

I read a TON of manga (or what feels like a ton) within the last month or so. And while this is technically the "#1" / first time I've mentioned manga on my blog, I think I'll make this a series now since I'm much more dedicated to reading manga now. Onto the books!


I Hear the Sunspot by Yuki Fumino | 5 stars!

This is the story of Kohei, a misunderstood boy with a hearing disability, and Taichi, a cheerful and straight forward boy with lots of heart, and how their meeting changed each others lives!

What I loved:

I read this first book as well as volumes 1-2 of Limited and Theory of Happiness. The M/M romance is so cute! This made me cry, the emotions are just so raw and honest. It's a story more complicated than you'd think going in. And there are so many messages that I think are worth hearing especially if you've never experienced/read a story about someone with hearing disability. I can't wait to continue on with this series as the volumes come out.

 

Ao Haru Ride (full series) by Io Sakisaka | 5 stars!

Futaba Yoshioka has encountered her first love again in high school, but he seems different from the boy she once knew. Kou has confessed to Futaba that in junior high he liked her too, but they can never return to those times. However, both of them choose to become class representatives and the adventures that ensure bring them closer together.

What I loved:

Again, a freakin' CUTE series. And this one is completed (+ I read all the extra chapters which were also so cute). This is one of those stories where the romance is slow burn and almost heartbreaking, but so worth it to read all the way till the end. But the main plot is supplemented by amazing side characters with their own stories to tell. And an overarching sadness that Kou brings to the table. It's just so good!

 

Somali and the Forest Spirit (vol. 1-5) by Yako Gureishi | 5 stars!

A Golem, the spirit that protects the forest it's born in, has no emotions or family. This Golem finds a lost human girl whom becomes immediately attached to him, calling him "Father." Golem takes it upon himself to protect her from the world of monsters and find the humans who lost her.

What I loved:

This is a father/daughter journey that is so incredibly adorable, I wouldn't have ever guessed I'd like it this much. I enjoyed seeing how Somali is able to enchant anyone that encounters her despite all the dangers she has to face. I loved how the Golem is settling into his role of father. And I especially love the heartbreaking twist that comes into play for Golem. I started reading this because I saw the first few episodes of the anime, excited to continue the manga and watch the anime!

 

Vampire Knight (vol. 1-10) by Matsuri Hino & Tomo Kimura | 4 stars!

Yuki Cross has no memory of her past prior to the moment she was saved from a vampire attack ten years ago. She was adopted by the headmaster of Cross Academy, and now works alongside Zero to guard the Academy's secret. Cross Adademy is attended by two groups of students: the Day Class and the Night Class. Yuki Cross and Zero Kiryu are the Guardians of the school, protecting the Day Class from the Academy's dark secret: the Night Class is full of vampires!

Thoughts:

Honestly, another guilty pleasure read! The first arc is just so so so good. And the twist at the end of the first arc (the first time around, because I did watch the anime) really surprised me. It's a love triangle troupe with beautiful vampires. Emotions run high. Sins are committed. People are betrayed and hurt. It's a good read, IF you can get past the overly sexualized blood drinking and the "twist" I mentioned (which can gross some people out). I'm continuing on with the rest of the series now to see how it all ends!

 

Dreamin' Sun (full series) by Ichigo Takano | 3 stars!

This book starts off like "While loitering in the park, Shimana Kameko, who intended to run away from home and skipped school, meets a suspicious man in a kimono. This man, who had been locked out of his house, offers Shimana a place to stay. However, he requests she fulfill three conditions in exchange for her tenancy!" But it's really more about Shimana and all the romantic rollercoasters she goes through.

Thoughts:

Honestly the first few books weren't that good, but it was a guilty pleasure kind of read. I was there for the absurd amount of instalove and drama that this series served up. The plot points started to get a little more complicated (in a good way) towards the middle-end of the series, but in the end, it wrapped it a little too quickly for my tastes. Still, a satisfying ending nonetheless.

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page