top of page
  • Review by Dorothy Requina

Wolf Children: Ame & Yuki by Mamoru Hosoda


4 stars! This review will be spoiler free!

Synopsis:

"When Hana falls in love with a young interloper she encounters in her college class, the last thing she expects to learn is that he is part wolf. Instead of rejecting her lover upon learning his secret, she accepts him with open arms. Soon, the couple is expecting their first child, and a cozy picture of family life unfolds. But after what seems like a mere moment of bliss to Hana, the father of her children is tragically taken from her. Life as a single mother is hard in any situation, but when your children walk a fine line between man and beast, the rules of parenting all but go out the window. With no one to turn to, how will Hana survive?"

*As this is a single novel manga, this review will be pretty short! I just wanted to give my overall thoughts on this gorgeous specimen.*

Thoughts:

I inhaled this book in ONE DAY. Granted, manga are pretty quick reads, but still. I couldn't put it down. First, the cover is so freaking cute I just had to read it because wolf babies. Second, this one hit me in the feels. I was tearful during multiple parts of this book. The mother experiences so much within what feels like such a short amount of time and you feel for her. Her romance with the interloper in her class was down right adorable. That fluffy, easy kind of romance that clicks into place. I did expect her to question his wolfish origin a little bit more, so that we as readers could glean more information as to how the gene is passed on and develops, but she didn't. That is one of my gripes.

Then her children start growing older and finding themselves. Their development was interesting for how it flipped flopped. I also like the subtle hints of kiddish romance. Between the two, I like Yuki the most because of her vibrant personality and how focused the story is one her (I mean she is the narrator).

The story only continued to get more and more emotional as the children matured into adults. The ending was probably the only part where I actually cried. I can only imagine a mother's love for her children, but this manga makes you really feel it.

My only other gripe is that IT ENDED TOO SOON. I wanted more! I wanted more closure. There were some open ended questions that I didn't want to be open ended, I felt like they should've been answered. Altogether, I would recommend this manga to anyone who wants a quick, bittersweet, lovely kind of quick read. The art was extremely appealing to me and I am the picky type when it comes to anime and manga, too. The writing was beautifully sad and happy at the same time. I could read this again any day.

Overall:

Is there a continuation? I hope so. I would pick it up in a heart beat and gobble it up in the next. The art was wonderful. The writing was beautiful. TIME TO WATCH THE MOVIE ADAPTATION! Which I also hear is on an equal level with the manga!

12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page