top of page
  • Review by Dorothy Requina

Namesake by Adrienne Young


1 star, liked even less than book one. Spoiler free review!

So I read the sequel because I already owned a copy and they're beautiful and I wanted to give this duology every chance it could have for me to love it, but I didn't. I hated it. The sequel had everything about the first book I didn't like and even more things I hated:

  • The male love interest is everything I don't like about "alphaholes" rolled into one. Can't learn to let a girl take care of herself. Can't listen to a girl's boundaries. Can't understand when to stop doing bad things. Literally has two completely different personalities that the author doesn't reconcile well, not enough of a back story and not enough of a separation/explanation for his actions, it's just not done well.

  • The plot is once again... I don't know where? It's just random and each mini-plot was easily wrapped up. The pacing felt like a long, dragging drive, versus an exciting edge-of-your-seat rollercoaster like I prefer.

  • The only thing I like was the ending. Maybe because I was so ready for it to end, but also because I can appreciate a good family moment. The intertwining of the family aspects into this story was probably the only thing I appreciated.

  • The side characters were again lacking, uninteresting, and forgettable.

  • I really just hate read this book at this point because I own such a beautiful copy of it and since it was only a duology I felt like I should just go ahead and finish the series.

Do not recommend if you like good romance in fantasy. Do not recommend if you prefer obstacle-full, well-paced plots. Do not recommend if you like fully flushed out side characters that you love just as much as the MC's. Do not recommend if you like a kick-ass, well developed, growing main character. Basically... I do not recommend.

 

More for Namesake:

Buy it on Amazon!

Check it out on Goodreads!

Check out Adrienne Young's other books: Sky in the Deep, The Girl the Sea Gave Back, The Last Legacy

 

If you liked this, then you may like (or like much more = me):

All the Stars and Teeth by Adalyn Grace

Serpent & Dove by Shelby Mahurin

Graceling by Kristin Cashore

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page