top of page
  • Review by Dorothy Requina

Lost in the Never Woods by Aiden Thomas

1 star! Spoiler free review!

Unfortunately this book fell flat for me, then tumbled into the dark unknown. I thought it was okay and found myself liking some bits and pieces, but ultimately just waiting for the end to come to say I finished it -- I should've dnf'd maybe?


What I liked (a few small little details):

  • Peter is SO PETER. Just like the fairytale.

  • There's a twist about the fairytale (which I don't know if it's how the original Grimm version is) and it made the ending much more intriguing!

  • I could personally relate to Wendy with her struggles about deciding what medical career she wanted to pursue in college. I felt like Aiden Thomas really captured the internalized fear in Wendy's thoughts.

  • The shadow was kind of a cool villain, if I'm being generous

What I didn't like (a majority of the book):

  • Too much unnecessary repetition. If Wendy has a dream, she doesn't need to retell the entire dream to Peter for us. We already lived the dream through Wendy, so I think those parts could have easily been cut out and just changed to some iteration of "and I walked him through this crazy dream I had." Otherwise you're just repeating everything twice -- multiple times!! -- it wasn't just once guys.

  • The plot was really a bunch of talking and walking. Talking.. and more walking.. It's only been like 2 weeks since I've read this as I'm writing this review and I can barely remember much of book except for like 5 short scenes. That's how much DID NOT happen for the majority of the plot.

  • It was utterly boring. Until the very very very end when the (we'll refer to it as) "the final battle" happens.

  • Then there's Wendy dealing with her somewhat mean father?? The family dynamics didn't sit well with me. I personally do not know what it's like to experience this kind of loss, but I just could not stop hating how Wendy's father was acting.

  • I didn't care about Wendy, I didn't care about her best friend. I didn't care about Peter even... They were just all flat and mediocre characters. Peter was only cool because he was the Peter from the fairytale and had some sparkly magic.

Now... I think I will give Aiden Thomas' books another try. Maybe this just wasn't for me because it was a retelling of sorts and maybe not enough fantasy for a fantasy for me. Maybe it's just this one? I'm going to give them the benefit of the doubt and read a different book by them in the future!

 

More for Lost in the Never Woods:

Buy it on Amazon!

Check it out on Goodreads!

 

If you liked this (Or want a better "Dark YA read"),

then you may like:

Three Dark Crowns by Kendare Blake

The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater

The Cruel Prince by Holly Black


22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page