top of page
  • Review by Dorothy Requina

Ink in the Blood by Kim Smejkal


DNF @ ~200 pages or 45%.

My thoughts as I was reading:

- Why does reading this book feel like I'm in the mind of someone on crack? The writing is chaotic and hard to follow.. (that was at ~5% in)

- This writing is so confusing sometimes. It's so hard to distinguish the different voices of the different characters. I just feel like there's no reason why I should be this far in and still confusing the two main characters and all the side characters blend together. Maybe I'm just not into it enough? (this was at ~35% in)

- This book just isn't catching for me. The dialogue doesn't click with me, the plot feels so all over the place, I'm not vibing with any the characters. I don't think I'm going to finish this book off anymore because I'm not enjoying reading it. I keep zoning out, not really wanting to pay attention, so that should be a hint to myself that it's just not for me. (this was at ~45% in)


And now:

Nearly half way through and can't find a single reason to want to continue, AND this was my second attempt. Just not for me, not the kind of writing I like and not the kind of story to keep me rapt.


Buy it on Amazon!

Check it out on Goodreads!

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page