top of page
  • Review by Dorothy Requina

Bone Crier's Moon by Kathryn Purdie

3.75 stars!


One of my most anticipated in 2020, so happy I got a copy in my fairyloot as well as my owlcrate. I liked it enough to keep both copies, so thankful for that! What initially intrigued me was the aspects of moon magic, female friendship, and a fated romance. This book delivered on the moon magic and female friendship, but I wasn't too keen on the romance surprisingly and aside from Ailesse and Sabine, the other women were actually annoying.

The magic and mythology was definitely my favorite thing about the story. I love how the bones of the animals they hunt and honor are what give them their capabilities, though I wonder what the reason is for the limit on the number they can have. The ritual to become a ferryer was quite intricate, and I hope that we get to learn even more in book two about how their magic, deities, and existence came to be.


In terms of the friendship, I love the dedication between Ailesse and Sabine. Though I could've done without the jealous streak Bastian's friend kept up with throughout Ailesse's kidnapping. Ailesse's romance with Bastian was quite the let down in the beginning. I know it's fated love, but Ailesse definitely meant to "fight her feelings" and she still insta-loved the man. As is with many YA books, so if you go into expecting it, the rest of the story is rather good. Leading up to the plot twist (that you could very much see coming) and the cliffhanger that was the ending!


Excited for book two to learn more about the magic and world and see how this story wraps up.


Buy it on Amazon!

Check it out on Goodreads!

 

Also look how beautiful this cover is! For both the books!


2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page