top of page
  • Review by Dorothy Requina

Blood Heir by Amélie Wen Zhao

4 stars! Spoiler free review!

Disclaimer: So I heard through the grapevine that this book had some issues when it first was annouced to release, then release was delayed so the issues could be fixed? I did not read an ARC of this book, I read the final “fixed” released copy.


Here are my thoughts:

  • I liked it! Obviously since I gave it 4 stars.

  • I thought the characters were interesting and showed growth throughout the story.

  • The main character though naïve in her understanding of the world she lives in because she grew up in a palace, is not weak. Ana is a badass and intelligent and full of heart.

  • The romance was less of a subplot and more mainstay for this fantasy, but I didn’t mind it, I enjoyed the tension between the two main characters.

  • The magic system was simple and well explained, not info dumpy.

  • The world building did a good job of displaying how royalty really can turn a blind eye to the poverty/mistreatment of those that are different in their country.

    • I like plots that open the eyes of the privileged and show them what they’ve been neglecting for their people.

  • The ending, or last 35%, was WILD. Even heart breaking at times. Definitely hooked me in for the sequel, and since this is only a duology, I’m excited to read the resolution.

  • Me giving this 4 stars is really more so because the plot felt a little basic. It had twists and turns, some of which I didn’t expect, but I didn’t feel like I was sitting at the edge of my seat at any particular time. It’s like the pacing was a baby roller coaster rather than the full on peaks and crashes and loops you’d want to ride through. Some of the plot lines also felt short or not fully fleshed out. Hoping that the sequel will explore some of the plot points even more.

Excited to read book two! Since it's a duology, I think I'll decide if it's worth a recommendation after I've finished the sequel/finale. I'm a little on the edge to recc it at this point, but I enjoyed it overall.

 

More for Blood Heir:

Buy it on Amazon!

Check it out on Goodreads!

 

If you like this, then you may like:

Grace and Fury by Tracy Banghart

Serpent & Dove by Shelby Mahurin

Snow Like Ashes by Sara Raasch

Kiss of Deception by Mary E. Pearson

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page