top of page
  • Review by Dorothy Requina

Among the Beasts and Briars by Ashley poston

2 stars! Spoiler free review!

Summary:

Since I can’t give an honest inkling of a summary for this book, here’s the GR synopsis.


Thoughts:

On goodreads I gave it 3 stars just after I finished reading, but I’m going to say it’s more of a 2 star kinda read now because I honestly don’t remember much of anything about this book. But I don’t think I loved it or hated it. “Just ok” like the 2 star option of GR says.


From my minimal memory of reading this book, it was a short and sweet story that I didn’t have a problem finishing. It had fairytale vibes just like the cover gives off. Kind of enchanting and slightly dark, but magical in the way fairytale stories are.

I literally do not remember the characters at all, unfortunately. I had nearly no connection the characters at all, I don’t think I cared what happened to them one way or another. Though I do remember loving the fox and how snarky he was.

Meh. This book is probably better for the youngsters. The new to young adult kinda tweens that still really like the old fashioned way of telling fairytales. If you’re of the more mature audience that still enjoys young adult books but needs the kind of young adult that grittier, more substantial, and more complex (like myself), you can definitely pass on this one.


Buy it on Amazon!

Check it out on Goodreads!

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page