top of page
  • Review by Dorothy Requina

Always and Forever Lara Jean

3 stars! Spoiler free review!

Let's be honest, the only reason I finished this trilogy was because of the movies and I needed to read the third book before watching the third movie. Well! The third movie has been out for quite some time and I really wanted to watch it, so I finished AAFLJ, here are my thoughts:


*Side note*

I LOVED the first two book (or so my reviews say, but I think I'm a much different reader now). That being said, I went into this book with very low expectations in terms of plot, and all the intention of enjoying Lara Jeans final moments and rooting for Peter K.


What I liked:

  • I enjoyed all the big grand gestures Peter K did.

  • I love how in love Lara Jean is.

  • All the romance and cutesy stuff was supremely adorable.

  • I also love how she really becomes her own person in this book, makes choices for herself and follows her heart.

  • There were some "big life moments" (at least when you're at that age) that I could relate to. Especially when it came to getting into college and trying to decide how you want to spend your last summer when you're still dating your high school sweetheart.

  • The ending was sooooo WHOLESOME. Definitely brought back some nostalgia to when I was that young.

What I didn't like:

  • Still, most of the book just felt like going through everyday life stuff and I wasn't entertained the entire time.

  • Something I didn't like what the lack of communication trope. I can't stand when people don't just talk to each other. It made this book just fell very young. I know that it's a young adult book and that it takes place in high school, specifically senior year. Unfortunately, I'm very removed from all of that high school drama considering I'm almost 25, at this age I feel like you should just speak your mind.

Overall, it's a very cute high school romance. Young and naive and just adorable altogether. The first two books were better if I'm remembering them correct. Still, I think if I reread books 1-2 now I'd probably have a different rating for them, BUT I've included my ratings/review from back then below!


Buy it on Amazon!

Check it out on Goodreads!

 

To All the Boys I've Loved Before | 5 stars


Time to watch the movie!


7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page