top of page
  • Review by Dorothy Requina

A Dark and Hollow Star by Ashley Shuttleworth

3 stars! Spoiler free review!

This book fell right in the middle for me, but there were things that I really really really liked and I can rave about those things (see below). BUT there's enough that was NOT working for me that I didn't fall in love with the story.


What I loved - aka what saved the book for me and let me to finish the book:

  • Everyone is queer, so I shipped all the ships. Arlo is unsure, Nausicaa is lesbian, Aurelian is gay, and Vehan is bisexual. Now I'm cis/hetero so I can't speak on accuracy of rep, but as a reader, these things being a part of them felt very natural and not forced and led to some very cute moments.

  • Fae in the modern world, adapting to the modern world + other kinds of mythology mixed on top of it including Deities, Titans, Furies which was kind of cool to see as I haven't read something like this before. And it takes place in Canada which I haven't read a book taking place in Canada before.

  • Nausicaa is just so fxcking funny?? Her parts in the dialogue actually made me LOL, like a legit LOL. AND her character arc just gives me all the feels. I'm rooting for her okay, she's my favorite hands down.

  • Arlo is so relatable as a person both in her humanistic qualities and in how she reacts to what her life is being thrust into. Then Arlo and Cel made my heart so warm. Celadon is so fiercely protective and loves her so much, and I just love family in books.

  • NORMALIZING MENTAL HEALTH >>>

  • They say the title in the book. That moment.

  • Elements of Dungeons and Dragons woven into the magic, this aspect made the whole end-sequence feel almost like playing a video game which was fun and made for cool pacing.

  • The ending was W I L D — this was when the story and plot finally started picking up the pace and when I truly started to enjoy the book as a whole and not just me waiting for Nausicaa to be back on the page.

Reasons why it didn't get a 5 star rating from me:

  • The world building was difficult for me to grasp. I didn't full understand the hierarchy of who is more powerful than who and who answers to who and just like what are the actual roles of the different peoples?

  • The plot was where I felt disconnected. We know ironborn are dying, we sort of get a POV that leads us to know the "who" but not the extent of the crimes. And you're following the gang as they try to get answers. There are maybe a few political machinations in the background. And like... that's it. That may sounds like a lot, but for how long the book was if that was all I got, I would've expected it to be shorter. In short it kinda dragged. I needed may an extra plot twist or two or some more "edge-of-the-seat" moments to feel more engaged.

  • I was pretty bored throughout the first 30-40%, which in my mind automatically pushes me to ask the book community if I should dnf or not. Thankfully some people advocated for this book and I chose to push through and I'm glad I did ultimately.

I can't decide if I'll continue on with the series yet. Maybe if I hear that the sequel is even better than book one or if someone with a similar experience to me ends up loving the rest of the series, I'll try to finish. We shall see!

 

More for The Dark and Hollow Star:

Buy it on Amazon!

Check it out on Goodreads!

 

If you liked this, then you may like:

Lost in the Never Woods by Aiden Thomas

The Cruel Prince by Holly Black


17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page