top of page
  • Review by Dorothy Requina

A Court of Silver Flames by Sarah J. Maas

5 STARS. YES, HOW COULD I GIVE IT ANY LESS.

Spoiler free for ACOSF, but may have spoilers for prior books.

I'M IN TEARS.

That whole part four was just... so fxcking good.

It was ALL so fxcking good.

I have thoughts and things to discuss, but overall ACOSF may now be in my top 3 SJM books for sure.


Let me tell you what I loved as succinctly as possible:

  • Nesta's GROWTH. Nesta is going through SO MUCH. There's so much we didn't know or realize about her and how she came to be who she was. This really painted her a full picture and you finally have understanding of her general nastiness and fierce need to protect. How she BURNS with everything she feels and is a goddess in fae skin now.

  • FEMALE FRIENDSHIP, they were so precious.

  • Valkyrie legends and the rising of new Valkyries

  • When the plot finally entered the chat in I think part 2 or at least the last 60% of the book, it had all the crazy twists and turns and emotions you'd expect from a SJM book.

    • The whole Dread Trove scavenger hunt was cool. Nesta finally gets the chance to show off what she can do and how she can be capable.

    • We definitely got even more history of Prythian and how the fae came to be

    • We even got more history of the Illyrians, how they come to be different ranking warriors, even how they procreate and battling their backwards laws

    • We got even MORE about the death gods, like YES how cool!

  • Part 3 and on? PERFECTION. Perfect balance of training, plot points, romance, and side character interactions (in this case Feyre and Rhys are side characters and gotta appreciate my faves)

  • The finale?!?! THAT ENDING?!?! I barely had time to recover from one bloody and emotional ending to be spurred right into another one but for different reasons, SO MANY FEELS. I fxcking loved it.

  • Helion gives me life. Love him. And his pegasus.

  • We see a different side of Rhys, he's no longer a perfect male (at least in my opinion he's not perfect in this book) and shows how even he has his flaws, but Feyre still loves him and the whole of the Night Court still love him.

What I didn't like: Looks long, but it's really only 2 things lol.

  • The whole first half is really just FAE SMUT. But what did you expect?

    • Not much plot whatsoever in that first half.

    • But are you really wanting plot in those steamy moments? Maybe not?

    • Might be just me, but some mild second hand embarrassment from reading these sex scenes even. They were just SO EXPLICIT.. and like naughty. (can you tell I don't read erotica?)

  • Also, once I got past the novelty and angst of the Nessian SMUT, I didn't need all the extra sex scenes. Like once plot finally became a thing like nearly half way into the book, whenever there was another sex scene I kinda checked out?

    • I just didn't need the full in depth scene every single time

    • I wouldn't have minded if some of the extra sex scenes were just "and we tangled" or "fade to black."

  • Elain is precious, but she needs some more personality. Like give me a reason to think she deserves Azriel.

A few things that bother me about this book, and generally about SJM books:

  • There are things that happen or scenes that are just TOO similar to her prior books to sit right with me. Of course I can't mention specifics without spoilers but I'll try to be discrete (skip the next few bullets if you're concerned about spoilers).

    • Making up during the holiday parties.

    • Mor always playing the savior when these mates get into arguments.

Buy it on Amazon!

Check it out on Goodreads!

19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page