top of page
  • Review by Dorothy Requina

Clockwork Princess by Cassandra Clare


5 STARS! This review will contain no spoilers, but if you have not read Clockwork Angel or Clockwork Prince, there will be spoilers for book one and two.

Summary:

“THE INFERNAL DEVICES WILL NEVER STOP COMING”

And they don’t. This is the third and final installment in the Infernal Devices trilogy. Mortmain is relentless in his attempts to acquire Tessa and everyone in the institute is doing their best to keep her out of his hands and safe. Charlotte is doing whatever she can to both keep those under her watch safe and try to find Mortmain to end his plans. Too bad the Consul keeps getting in her way! They know that Mortmain is building an army and he only grows stronger while they wait. This book picks off a little after where book two ended and throws you right into the action!

Oh my god has an ending ever been so satisfying!! I have to be honest, I really only finished this trilogy because everyone told me the third book was worth it (as I felt like the first two books were about 3.5-4 star reads). LET ME TELL YOU. This book was on a whole other level compared to the first two books. So so so good! The action was way more intense, the romantic and familial relationships were done perfectly, and the emotions you feel on this rollercoaster are so strong! I teared up so many times that I can’t even count. Again, this last book was 100% a satisfying end to the story that is Tessa, Will, and Jem.

**Also, I read this book using Audible! The narrator for this book, Daniel Sharman, did the different voices and emotions of these characters so well! This was the best audio book in the trilogy!

Plot:

This story was a little different than the others. First, there was a lot more letter sending between people, all people. It’s like when one chapter ends, someone is sending a message. Then when the next chapter starts, that person who received a message is replying back. So you get insight into not just things happening at the institute, but also things happening with the Consul.

Second, the romance was finally not the only engrossing aspect of this trilogy. In Clockwork Prince, there really wasn’t any Mortmain or reveals about his plans or his armies. In this book we get it all! He finally reveals himself and things start to pick up from there. The action picks up from the first chapter if I remember correctly. Those scenes were always intense as I said above! They were written so vividly and from multiple aspects of the “battlefields” (can’t find a better word) they fought in. The imagery and suspense during the fighting scenes just kept you glued to the book and at the edge of your seat!

Third, we get to see so much more of the side characters in this book and not just because one of the main characters happens to be talking to them. Sophie and Gideon have their own pages. Charlotte and Henry do too. Cecily and Gabriel were adorable in their bantering type of relationship that they built. And Bridgette! Can I just say that I wish we knew more about her and how she trained because she’s a center piece in a lot of the action. She was crazy strong in all the battles and a madwoman when it came to cutting down enemies! Oh and there’s Magnus still! He played an important role in this book and he’s of course still one of my favorite people in Cassie’s books. I want my own Magnus, a Magnus Bane best friend!

Fourth, I know I just said the romance wasn’t the only thing in this book, but it was a great part of it. Will, Jem, and Tessa are such an interesting love triangle. They handled each others emotions very differently than you would have expected. Also, the last three chapters and the epilogue surrounding these three was perfect! It’s because of the ending and the fact that every single loose end was tied up in this book, that I found this last book to be so satisfying. Literally, EVERY loose end. Nothing left for you to question, which some people may not like, but I’m not one of them. It’s oddly refreshing to have all your questions finally answered in one single book.

Characters:

Tessa really grows into her powers in this book. I feel like she knows who she is and what she wants. It sucks that she wants two things when she can only have one. I’m glad she stayed as true to her heart as she could given her circumstances. AND she was totally a badass in the last chapters of the major battle. She is not one of my top female characters in the Shadowhunter world.

Will is AMAZING. I now completely and whole-heartedly understand why everyone is so in love with him. He has made a full circle and become one the kindest, most loving and caring, honorable, and bravest men in this book. You really can only hope that someday, someone will love you as much as Will loves Tessa.

Jem, who has always been a step above Will to me, is now on par with him. They are both great in their own ways. Jem and his music is so special and unique. I find that his role in this book was written to perfection. Especially that epilogue too!

Cecily! Cecily, Cecily, Cecily! She is so SASSY and head strong and a natural Shadowhunter. The way she is with her brother is very entertaining, which Tessa agrees with me. She’s also fiercely loving and protective of him, and when Will starts to warm up to her presence there, their sibling relationship just gets better and better. She has Will’s bluntness and beauty, too. They make quite the pair of brother and sister.

Charlotte and Henry are the parents of the institute, the backbone to the institute, and the glue that holds everyone in that household together. I love how strong Charlotte is for how erratic Henry is. They just complete each other and even more so in this book where you really get to see their love for each other.

Gabriel and Gideon. Oh they are just TOO FUNNY! I found that a lot of the moment where I caught myself laughing out loud were when they said something they didn’t mean to or they just did something that was super awkward. They were a wonderful addition to the London institute especially because of the ships that play into.

I already mentioned Magnus above, but I just have to say again: I want a Magnus Bane of my own!

Overall:

I feel like the first two books were a little lackluster for all the hype that this trilogy gets, but if you get through those two books, please please please read Clockwork Princess. You just have to because of that ending! I'm pretty happy that I've made my way through this story and this time period in the world that Cassandra Clare has created. I'm still sure I'll read her future books!

Thank for reading! :)

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page