top of page
  • Review by Dorothy Requina

The Immortal Heights by Sherry Thomas


I gave this book 4.5 stars! This review will contain no spoilers, but if you have not read the first two books, then there will be spoilers for those!

Summary:

The Immortal Heights was the final book in the Elemental Trilogy by Sherry Thomas. This book picks up right where The Perilous Sea left off, which was in the middle of a freaking BATTLE. Titus, Iolanthe, and Kashkari along with the rebels of the base are trying to keep the great elemental mage out of the Bane’s hands. When they finally escape the desert, Kashkari decides he’s going to join their mission to defeat the Bane, but this leaves them with one big problem. How in the world are they going to infiltrate one of the most secluded and heavily guarded fortresses in the mage realms? This final book follows all our beloved characters from book one and their fight to save each other and the Domain.

This book was the beautiful knot that wrapped up all the loose ends and unknowns left from books one and two. It was an absolutely lovely ending to the trilogy. I could not have been happier with how everything worked out. It’s so crazy how it all happened. I was on the edge of my seat (but really my bed because that’s where I was reading) because every single scene had so much suspense. Sherry Thomas did not let you for one moment think everything was going to be okay until the absolute end.

*Also, I read this book using Audible! The narrator for this trilogy, Phillip Battley, is wonderful! He is ah-may-zing at capturing the emotions of the characters during the dialogue parts.

My favorite part:

"I will probably bruise my face going up," said Titus. "No, not that. That's my favorite part of you." "Really? You told me something else altogether in the lighthouse.”

Plot:

To describe the plot in one word, I would go with: SUSPENSE! So many scenes of “I think we’re safe” NOPE! “I see armored chariots!” Oh no! “Time to run again.” Oh how many times they were able to escape by some luck or some magically thought of escape route planned from some years ago. Crazy how many loopholes they had in order to escape the clutches of the Bane. Also crazy how spread out Atlantis’s forces are. They. Are. Everywhere!

Even more world building went into this book because this is the one where they finally go to Atlantis to face the Bane. Sherry Thomas does an amazing job of creating a picture for you, whether it’s inside the crucible, in Eaton, in the desert, in Atlantis. Everything is so vivid! Oh and the emotions you feel during the roller coaster of events are so strong. I will admit that I definitely teared up a couple times. It was inevitable. There’s equal parts sadness and happiness in ending.

There’s also an epilogue, and I love me a good epilogue because it’s nice to see how the characters stories turn out in a few years or so. It wasn’t quite was I was hoping for because the romantic in me was wanting something a little more cute, but still pretty satisfying nonetheless. Which reminds me that the romance in this book is readily apparent, but not overwhelming. I liked the subtleness of the romantic scenes and quick kisses in between. It was a nice break from the hot and heavy kinds of books.

Characters:

I just have so much love for Iolanthe/Fairfax and Prince Titus! They’re love for each other is genuine and passionate and occasionally reckless, but still. They’re perfect together.

Kashkari isn’t even a side character anymore. He’s a main adventurer along with Iolanthe and Titus. He, being the prophetic dreamer, does a lot of the foreshadowing in the book. But even without that, his personality is dazzling. He’s got a sweet side for the love of his life and you get to experience more emotions from him in this book.

Hayward is such a brave guardian. I can’t say too much about him without spoilers, but he loves Iolanthe like his own and that’s special to me. They really care for each other a lot in this book.

Dalbert, such cunning and cleverness. I do enjoy his character a lot even though we barely know much about him. He does certain things in this novel that remind me almost of Alfred from Batman. He’s

Characters that made me want to through my book at the wall: Aramia. Because she’s despicable and got what was coming to her. Also Lady Callista for obvious reasons from the first two books. Oh and the Bane of course. He’s even more gruesome and disgusting in person.

Overall:

THIS TRILOGY IS EASILY A FAVORITE OF MINE. It’s all going on my favorites shelf because I love these characters and this world. The world building is complex all through each book. Every character is fully developed and flushed out and they all make you want to love them. (Except for the bad guys of course) And the ending to it all was perfect! There were things that you didn’t know you wanted to know until it was revealed in the last couple chapters of the book.

Can we also talk about how gorgeous every single cover is in this trilogy?! I mean look:

Thank you for reading! :) I hope you picked up this trilogy and loved it as much as I did!

59 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page