top of page
  • Sarah J. Maas

A Court of Mist and Fury


This book would get 5 MILLION STARS if I could give them and MORE. This review will contain no spoilers for ACOMAF, but will contain spoilers for ACOTAR if you have not read it yet! There is a *warning* before the spoilery thoughts section, keep an eye out!

Summary:

A Court of Mist and Fury, also known as ACOMAF, is the sequel to A Court of Thorns and Roses (ACOTAR) written by Sarah J. Maas. This book follows the events after Feyre has already released the faeries of Prythian from the grasp of Amarantha who had held them under a curse for 50 years. Amarantha had practically killed Feyre when she managed to break the curse and the High Lords of the seven realms showed their gratitude by granting her the gift of immortality, they Made her. This story begins from Tamlin’s manor in the Spring Court as Feyre tries to learn her new body and adjust to no longer being a prisoner Under the Mountain. Feyre is seriously troubled by all the horrible things she had to do while fighting to save Tamlin. Not to mention, she made that bargain with Rhysand, the High Lord of the Night Court, where she has to spend a week a month with him in his lands.

I'm so freakin blown out of my mind. I think I love this even more than Queen of Shadows... And now I'm left at such a heart wrenching cliffhanger. I just... I'm at a loss for words for how outstanding this sequel was. If you thought ACOTAR was just okay, ACOMAF is literally the work of a GOD. I mean every time I picked up this book I would have to take small break to calm my racing heart for either suspense, action, love, or rage! I have SO MUCH LOVE for this world and these characters. Feyre & Rhysand & their court will forever be in my heart.

Plot:

Secrets upon secrets upon secrets. You read through this book with something new getting thrown at you at every twist and turn. It is impossible to get bored. ACOTAR seems like so long ago after all the things you learn in ACOMAF. The world becomes bigger, the plot becomes way way way more complex, and there are a ton of new characters. There are players in this plot that you would have never expected and some that you did, but did not realize how despicable they could be. You also get to see so much more of Prythian! Each realm that you get to visit in this book is their own and so unique and very attuned to the powers that come from that court. I just have to do a slow clap at how awesome the world building that Sarah does in both her series. Her first books always start with the bare minimum, but you can’t tell until she explodes with crazy amounts of details in books to come.

Sarah Maas is incomparable in her abilities to evoke every single emotion out of her readers in ACOMAF as well. When you get really happy because you think things are going really well, DON’T get too excited because she will rip out your heart, then put it back together and then do it again (in the BEST WAY POSSIBLE). Some of my most favorite emotions that you feel along with the characters is the feral/primal side of the faeries. Sometimes you come out a chapter thinking you want to snarl at someone. Sometimes OTHER chapters get really STEAMY and DELICIOUS to the point where you might think this is more new adult than young adult. For me, this is definitely new adult. THOSE parts… Were done exquisitely, in my opinion.

Okay away from the sexy bits, we got to learn about the histories of the wars and the feuds as well. We find out more about the histories of characters we’ve already met, and tons and tons about the characters we get to meet. We’re also exposed to new kinds of magic. The different types of magic that are derived from each court, what they are and how they work (ish, there’s still more to explain).

Well, there’s still more to explain in general. THE ENDING WAS SPECTACULAR to say the least. Feyre had become such an amazing character and we see her develop and grow and become badass all throughout the book. The end just tops it off. Or cliffs it off because so much happen in those last hundred pages that leaves a open space for book three to go in any which way. I cannot wait for the end, but I also do not want it to come so soon.

Characters: (there are lots so I need to break them apart)

Rhysand/Rhys - I’m team Rhys all the way since I met him in book one. I don’t know, I always end up rooting for the bad guy. I was getting a lot of “Damon vibes” from him in the beginning of the book if you’ve watched the Vampire Diaries and what do you know, I’m team Damon for TVD. Rhys is just a crazy, incredible, sweet, complicated, selfless character. I love him and I want one of my own.

Feyre - She is way less annoying in this book than ACOTAR thank goodness. Her choices made sense. She went through so much. I can only say that I really love her now that she has become such a strong character.

The Night Court - I don’t know if I should quite say all their names because you do not meet them until a good amount into the book, so I won’t. I do love the relationships that were built between this court and Feyre. I also love the tangled web of emotions and friendships that already existed amongst them before Feyre was added to the family. Not only do they have great vibes personalities, but they are just so BADASS. Oh my, I need new adjectives.

Tamlin - Back to my TVD metaphor, Tamlin is kind of like a "Stephen”. Thinks he so sure in what’s right for her that he doesn’t even give her a choice. I thought I could at least like Tam a little bit because I did in ACOTAR, but nope. Not after this one. Fully a wholeheartedly am a thumbs down for Tam.

Lucien - I missed the Lucien/Feyre friendship that I enjoyed so much in ACOTAR. We did not get that much at all in this book which saddens me. Either way, Lucien was kinda left as a mystery for me. I can’t decide how I feel about him quite yet so I need to wait for the next book.

Ianthe - She can just go to hell. You’ll see why.

Overall:

I NEED the third book. I'm desperately hoping it's 800+ pages long because I'm gonna need a KICKASS ending to top this kickass sequel.

READ IT. READ IT NOW. (Unless you have to read ACOTAR first then do that, then READ THIS!)

*WARNING* SPOILERS BEGIN HERE! *WARNING*

OKAY! Here are just some random thoughts I had going through my head as I was reading. I don't know if this would interest anyone, but I thought I'd add them in anyways. I usually wrote down my thoughts and then tacked on a page number for where I was in the book having these thoughts. I guess this could be something similar to a discussion? No? I don't know.

I feel like Tamlin reminds me of Stephen from TVD and Feyre is Elena. Always trying to keep her safe though she's very capable of taking care of herself. Especially if she has a new and improved body. 12

HOLY STEAMY... This is definitely more new adult that anything I've ever read in young adult. WOAH. Also, I'm feeling like Tamlin is kinda controlling... 24 Didn't she say NO RED. It's Ianthe's fault I feel like... Maybe she's actually evil... She did say no red petals. Ianthe ruined it all. 43 Did you guess Rhys was gonna pop up during the wedding? Haha I did! I felt like that would happen just because that's so Rhys. 44 So he can hear/feel her thoughts through the agreement bond thingy 46 Rhys is definitely a Damon (from TVD)... He's completely honest and blunt, which is something I think Feyre needs. 47 Things are so much more interesting with Rhys. What is with his weird reaction? And his wings?? 59 Ohh snap! Feyre might have special powers! I wonder what they are? I wonder how they will begin to manifest? 95 Poor Tamlin. Awgh. She's just not backing down omg. "Marry someone who can put up with this." Then he goes berserk! What in the world?! Tamlin, you're messing up here and I'm really really starting not to like you at all. 99 Ohp she's turned to the dark side. Yasssss. Team Rhys! 131 Time to meet a new creature! The bone carver isn't as scary as I thought. Kind of a let down, but then Rhys and Feyre are starting to get even closer. Why did she see the bone carver as a little boy she doesn't even know? Why did Rhys see Jurian? 202 So Feyre is super special and super central to all these plans being Made and all. Of course it would have to work out that way. I wonder how much of this war and retrieval of the cauldron/book will lead into book three. 205 I have a feeling something is definitely going to go wrong when she meets this "Weaver." ALSO, "Did you enjoy the sight of me kneeling before you?" The shameless flirting has begun formal now! Sassy Feyre is coming out! Yes, provoke Rhys. Please bring out his primal side. 215 Feyre spends a lot of the time vomiting, not that in this case it wasn't funny but she vomits... A LOT. Also, Cassian is the wonderful light comedic relief I like in book. Anyways, GO FEYRE for finally snapping out of her weak reverie and getting the ring from the Weaver! 228 You know who Feyre's arsenal of insults reminds me of, saying prick and insufferable bastard all the time, Aelin. Aelin insulting Rowan. Feyre insulting Rhys. So similar. But who cares because it's so funny. 263 WOOHOO they got the first half of the book of breathings. So sad it was at the expense of their relationship with summer. I did quite like Tarquin. His and Feyre's flirtations were more sweet and innocent. Cute even. I hope that gets repaired in the end. I like Tarquin. Sad sigh. 363 Loving this slow burn relationship going on between Rhys and Feyre... The flirting, the looking but not touching, the not kissing... And then SHE saves HIM from a nightmare this time. They're just too perfect for each other already. 372 OMG the scene in the Court of Nightmares was SO STEAMY & angsty it was killing me. I thought he was gonna have her right there under the mountain. But then their fight after almost broke my heart. Agh. Why did they have to fight?! So many ups and downs, my heart is aching for them. Now Rhys won't even talk to her and I feel like I'm about to cry. 429 The night of Starfall. OMG. They finally made up and agh I'm so happy I might still cry. So good so good. The fact that the star light literally splattered their faces was hilarious. Rhys laughing is the best. Feyre finally smiled at him and now they've admitted to each other that they want each other. I can already feel Sarah about to break my heart by wrenching them apart for some reason or other. 440 Poor Lucien :( he's only trying to please his High Lord, but can't see what he's doing wrong. I wonder what makes the Spring Court think this kind of behavior is okay? Like where is this brain washing coming from? 462 Feyre has wings! I wonder if she will get to learn how to fly? I hope so! 463 Dang that steamy scene in the inn. First he was super sweet to her getting her food. And then they played thought for a thought. I like how honest they were. Revealing their TRUE feelings. And then the part right before they slept. I wish she didn't say she wanted a distraction... Either way Rhys is soooooo good. Too good. These parts are just getting more and more graphic, I don't know how anyone under 16 would be able to read this as a normal young adult. 475 Rhys was attacked by Hybern soldiers with old magic. :( Feyre went all super ninja mode and killed them all. I wonder if she has like time bending abilities when she winnows because that's kinda how I imagine it when I'm reading. & Feyre's blood has magical healing powers. I knew it. I knew she would have healing powers and I like how Sarah made it so that it wasn't like some glowing power to heal, but that she give up her blood. Very vampy. And now she knows he's her mate. But why do females not notice when a male is her mate? How do only the men feel the snap? 494 I mean I knew it, the whole Rhysand felt the bond with Feyre thing, at the end of ACOTAR but I definitely did not expect Feyre to react so angrily after finding out she was his mate. 499

Everything that happened in part three was like bam. Bam. BAM BAM BAM. The last one hundred pages were absolutely epic:

The mortal queens betrayed them, but I knew that was gonna happen. It just had to, they didn't seem nice at all. Disgusting mortal humans.

And because they attacked Velaris, they're going to strike back! Of course they got caught, everything was just too easy. Rhysand swiftly took the book before getting taken which was super smart of him. I still don't understand Jurian's part in all this. Why is he so important?

What the heck with Tamlin & Lucien working with the king?! Spring Court can stoop even that low, wow. And when the queens arrive with Feyre's sisters. Ianthe betrayed Tamlin with that information, and Tamlin is still going to keep her around. Elain & Nesta were both Made sadly, I hope they take to it well... Oh then Lucien imprinted on Elain. Oh the irony! I'm so sad that Azriel was shot and Cassian's wings were shredded. Feyre pretended to be under Rhys's influence to sacrifice herself to the enemy. So sad so sad! At least the king broke the bargain bond, but not he mating bond. They still have each other, yesssss! AND Feyre is High Lady of the Night Court (yas girl be fierceeee)!

She has infiltrated the spring court to destroy them from within. Though Lucien is wary of her because he knows she's lying, but he won't expose her because Mor has his mate. Tamlin can't tell the difference either way thank goodness. Luciens eye might be able to detect lies? I don't know?

85 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page