top of page
  • Sarah J. Maas

Queen of Shadows


"Quick Talk" with n o s p o i l e r s. (May contain spoilers if you have not read the previous books)

Second read review (January 2016): 5 STARS!

Honestly, this book was twice as good for me the second time around because I was able to look for all the small details that I think might play in with the rest of the series and I got to relive all my favorite parts ever in this book. SERIOUSLY MY FAVORITE PARTS ARE THE AELIN/ROWAN BANTERING PARTS! Their weird telepathy is both so cute and intriguing. Aelin can be such a tease (If you've read, you know what I mean haha).

Anyways, I'm probably a really horrible critic to say that I could not find any problems with this book even through the second round. I could not. This book was just immaculate to me. I felt like for the plot everything was happening at a good pace. Secrets were revealed at just the right moments like you're kept you in such a suspense that whenever there was something revealed to me, I could physically feel my entire body relax and uncoil from it! No joke, but it's completely a good thing. Also, I really really liked how the characters and relationships between characters were developing. Aelin and Lysandra are officially one of my favorite best friend relationships. One of my new favorite quotes is from Lysandra in this book! "You and I are nothing but wild beasts wearing human skins.” I love it! Then there's Aedion and Aelin, finally some semblance of real blood family bonds. Lastly, the aforementioned fave ship in the book Aelin & Rowan. (I've jumped ships so much each time a new hottie is introduced, its so bad.) This entire book was just a conglomeration of everything wonderful in Sarah J. Maas' books.

I'd like to say a lot of loose ends were tied (which they were), but honestly there's so many questions left unanswered. Really the story can go in any direction now, it's like a blank slate with well loved characters and a well loved world. I cannot wait for Empire of Storms to be released so that I can experience the next wonderful masterpiece of Sarah J. Maas!

** I used Audible again. The narrator, Elizabeth Evans, is amazing! She is the reason I started using audiobooks. I've listened to her for all the Throne of Glass books before and I don't mind listening to her narrate the books all over again when I can't keep a solid book on me. **

First read review (October 2015):

Best book in the series so far!

Plot = 5 stars

Characters = 5 stars

Tension = 5 stars

Pacing = 5 stars

Action = 5 stars

Complete, utter badassness = a million stars

Can you tell how much I loved this book?!

This is my favorite series ever right now.

So much happens in QoS that your heart strings are just getting tugged in all kinds of ways. You're never bored and you never want to put it down.

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page