top of page
  • Review/Discussion by Dorothy Requina

Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo


Rating: 5 stars!

Spoiler Free Review:

Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo is another of her books that takes place in the Grisha world, but instead of being centered around Ravka, this story is centered around the other countries and also other races. This book was a whirlwind of craziness and adventure and great great comebacks. This book was WAY WAY better than the Grisha trilogy in my opinion which I honestly couldn't even finish (didn't read the last book). Every time I started reading I instantly got hooked and could only be pulled away by sleep.

Oh my goodness there's so many aspects of this story that I severely loved! I very much enjoyed the multiple views of this book as it really gives you a better look into how every character is thinking and reacting to the ever changing obstacles in the plot. The back and forth between Nina and Matthias was so so fun. I enjoyed being in Nina's head the most because she's such a cool personality & Grisha. Jesper I was not expecting to be...well can't say without spoilers haha. Still, really like that Barsugo incorporated that part of Jesper into the story because it just makes him even cuter. Kaz and Inej though. I'm fighting for them. The ending totally made me mad because now I need the next book. I'm mad at myself because I should've seen it coming but I didn't. And now I'm slightly heart broken. That's another thing I liked about this heist plot. I has absolutely no idea what was going to happen next, what was gonna go wrong, how were they gonna get out of it, and so on. I was on my toes basically the whole last three parts of the book. Also, all the while reading this book I kept forgetting how young these characters are. 16-19 years old. And doing all these crazy acrobatic, really clever, daring heist type things. It's almost unthinkable.

This book has literally everything in a good heist plot book:

  • very well flushed out and diverse characters

  • a team each with their own special talents to make the heist

  • slow burning romances and angsty arguments

  • twists & turns & flips every 10 pages, I could keep going on.

The ultimate selling point for me right now is how much I fell in love with the crew in Six of Crows. I just need more of them. Gimme gimme gimme the sequel!

*if you have no read the book, read the next section after!*

SPOILERY DISCUSSION BEGINS HERE:

Okay can we talk about Nina and Matthias? Their relationship throughout almost this entire book was so much fun! Nina just had such a vibrant personality and Matthias is all prude and they just have a well balanced relationship. Her fire to his ice. He’s a warrior and she’s just fierce. I’m very very happy that Matthias did not actually turn on her at the end with Brum because I was SHOCKED when I read that part. Like no, no this cannot be. He must love her?? Right?! And then he went back and saved her.

I seriously love Nina and all her sassiness. As many know, I love sassy characters the most which is probably why Nina is my favorite and why the ending left me so freaking shattered! My girl Nina took the jurda parem and now she’s in a fragile state and we don’t know what will happen to her. I’m thinking she will pull through. I’m rooting for her and Matthias’s happy ending.

Jesper is another one of my fave characters. For all his flaws he is still one of my favorites in this book because he’s so incredibly interesting. He’s Zemeni, a farmer, a Fabrikator that doesn’t want to be a Grisha (kinda), a terrible card player, and a sharp shooter. Marksmen have a special place in my heart because I think they are so cool. The reveal of his Fabricator abilities was perfectly timed in my opinion because I was not expecting like many other parts of the book, but his powers played a key role in the success of the mission. Now he’s fighting with himself and whether or not he wants to embrace his Grisha side. Jesper is also like the comedic relief of the book. The right amount of lightheartedness we need in all the dark of the story. Not only that, but Jesper has hints of liking boys with his flirting with Wylan (who did flirt back! Ah!) and caring for Kaz. I just thought that that part of him really added even more diversity in the characters of this book. All of Wylan and Jesper’s squabbles were ah-dor-ah-ble! Wylan clearly grew as the heist continued on. He grew a backbone and almost added years to his character as he helped the crew accomplish this impossible mission and in the end help Kaz try and get the upper hand on his own father.

Kaz… Kaz is so DARK. Not in a bad way obviously. He had his moments that keep him from being completely cold which you really only see when you read in his point of view. Like how he needs to lean on Inej even though she doesn’t know. How he will go to any lengths to save her when she was taken from him at the end even though he knows she won’t stay for him in Ketterdam (but I want her to). Those moments of lightness keep him from becoming a sort of black hole of a character. Not that I would complain if he was because woah, his upbringing was so hard I’m surprised he survived. His story of Jordie and Pekka being Hertzoon just infuriated me so much. Like how could you have done that to poor little Kaz and then how did the Gods allow Jordie to get sick and leave Kaz all alone.. Just not fair at all. I can totally see how he lives on fury and revenge. Thankfully, he is a clever little git that can plan out every little detail and has so many trick up his sleeve that he basically comes back from the dead over and over.

Inej has some of the most heart wrenching lines in my opinion. I could list them all, but if you’re reading this, then you’ve read the book and you just know what I’m talking about. Her interactions with Kaz start to break now his walls and show his true emotions. When Kaz confessed to her at the end and still couldn’t hold onto her, Inej was so so so strong to be able to walk away. She found her resolve too while working through the heist. She wants to sail and target slavers and just be free at sea from the chains that bound her in Ketterdam. SO not only is she a an awesome personality added to the book, but she is a super stealthy Wraith. I just wish I could have awesome powers like that because being an acrobat with the skills to kill would probably come in handy in a lot of situations.

12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page