top of page
  • Sarah J. Maas

Crown of Midnight


"Quick Talk" with n o s p o i l e r s.

Second read review:

So this is my second time rereading Crown of Midnight and I have to say a few of my views have changed about this one. I still think this book was an absolute adventure! I found #Chaolena very very very cute still, the romance aspect I will always love. And the things that were revealed about Dorian and Celaena throughout the book were some of my favorite parts!

But then there was how Chaol reacted to Celaena at the end that made me.. I don't know.. dislike him kinda like how I did in Queen of Shadows. I can't say more about that without spoilers, but I feel like the last couple of chapters is where I really started to not like Chaol anymore and yes, I know this is probably bias because I already know what happens. I don't care.

Dorian and Celaena though! Their friendship is one for the books. I feel like they have the type of relationship most people wish for after a break up.

Now, besides all the lovey-dovey business, I enjoyed the mysterious you-have-to-figure-it-out-with-the-character feel of book two. The puzzles and riddles were drawn out just enough and I found that the "revealings" (that's what I'll call them) were timed well in the story. Also, you really do feel tons of emotions going through this book. I can remember myself smiling, laughing, cringing, on the verge of tears, and definitely definitely anxious while reading. The action is described so spot on, its like a movie in your head. That's why I love Maas's writing so much!

ONTO THE NEXT ONE!

** I used Audible again. The narrator, Elizabeth Evans, is amazing! She is the reason I started using audiobooks. I've listened to her for all the Throne of Glass books before and I don't mind listening to her narrate the books all over again when I can't keep a solid book on me. **

First read review (September 2015):

This book was beyond any other book I've ever read. It was absolutely spectacular. If I could give this book 10 or 100 stars I would. There was so much adventure, betrayal, sadness, and happiness. There were twists and turns I didn't see coming! The writing was delicious I drank up every word of it for an entire day straight just to finish!

Celaena is such a loveable character. She has so many different phases and realizations and secrets you just want to keep getting to know her. Chaol, ever loyal to a fault, is still who I want her to be with. He's literally P.E.R.F.E.C.T. And Dorian, what you learn about him in this book also makes him so much more appealing. How can one girl choose?

This sequel was the best sequel I've ever read. The character development, the plot development, the cliffhanger! I cannot wait to get my hands on the next in the Throne of Glass series!

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page