top of page
  • Review by Dorothy Requina

Tokyo Ever After by Emiko Jean

4 stars! Spoiler free!

Fun, easy, "read-in-one-sitting" kind of contemporary. Gave me all the Princess Diaries vibes!

  • Literal modern day princess and the guard romance

  • I especially love it when the guard is this super stoic and suited up man, that once you put him in his t-shirt and sweats, is a whole golden retriever.

  • Good blend of family dynamics and romance

    • I'm especially a sucker for the kind of relationship where the daughter is very close with the mother

  • Didn't like that the "girls being mean to girls" trope is used, even when it's between family members, but I appreciate that Izumi didn’t stoop that low

  • When the plot twist happens, I immediately knew who was behind it, but definitely didn’t see the actual twist coming until I turned the page and BAM -- my heart broke. Thank goodness that Izumi at least got a tiny bit of revenge because it was much deserved. I was literally clapping for her.

  • AMAZING ending. It was so cute, so disney princess like, and I just ate all that up.

I would like to read more from this author in the future! This was exactly what I wanted from this book. Went in with sort of low expectations, but was surprisingly impressed by the end.

 

More for Tokyo Ever After:

Buy it on Amazon!

Check it out on Goodreads!

15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page