top of page
  • Review by Dorothy Requina

I'll Be the One by Lyla Lee

3.5 stars! Spoiler free review!


This was a fun read, cute and inspiring, but most importantly did not shy away from the hardships of being fat within the constraints of Asian societal and cultural expectations.

  • The best part of the whole book was obviously Snowball. If you know, you know.

  • Okay, all jokes aside, the romance was SO ADORABLE, extreemmmeeeely cliche, but I still enjoyed it because it still felt natural in this setting. Also PRAISE for having two bisexual main love interests and a lesbian side couple, whom I also adored.

  • The pacing was fast and full of moments where I was angry with judges, sad for the family dynamics, and happy because Skye was killing it in the competition.

  • The plot was simple, but the drama added a nice touch that without I don't think I would've been as enraptured.

  • At times this was a hard read, experiencing all the fat-shaming through Skye was difficult because you never quite had a satisfying resolution to it, which is much more realistic than anything else. At least it felt much more relatable to what I've experienced in real life.

  • Lastly, I loved all the kpop songs and how I could hear/picture them in my head throughout the story. Some of these I didn't know and discovered a few new faves.

  • Added bonuses, yummy food and female friendships! <3

I would 100% read a sequel, but am still satisfied with the ending of this story. It just left me with a full heart for Skye and Henry.


Buy it on Amazon!

Check it out on Goodreads!

13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page