top of page
  • Review by Dorothy Requina

Get a Life, Chloe Brown by Talia Hibbert

5 "smudge"-tastic stars!

This book. This book was the definition of pure, undiluted, real, super freaking adorable — happiness.


My thoughts are all good thoughts:

  • Chloe Brown is undeniably a badass. I really appreciate the way the author handled her fibromyalgia, the way she spoke about how the disease works and how the medications she was on actually affect the body and mind. As a person in the medical field, I can appreciate the medical accuracy of her disease process. And from my experience with patients she did a great job of explaining the mindset that people with chronic pain are in as well as developing coping mechanisms and understanding of their own bodies because every single person handles chronic pain differently.

  • Redford is a cinnamon roll wrapped in gorgeous redheaded packaging. I love his honesty. I love his fears. I love that he was a vulnerable with Chloe and with himself. I love that he chose to seek therapy even though making that decision alone is incredibly hard. He's also so encouraging, confident, observant, and just downright loving. Where can I get me one???

  • What both of them are going through individually felt so 100% honest. Granted I do not have any sort of disabilities such as these, I can only imagine what they're going through. But to me their stories felt so real.

  • The dialogue was laugh out loud funny. There were so many times when I was listening to this audiobook that I literally just burst out laughing and could not hold it in. The sarcastic quips and the lovable banter between these two characters was my absolute favorite part of this book. They're flirting and joking was just chefs kiss, top notch.

  • Now this is primarily a romance if you didn't know, and I fell in love with their love. Not to mention all the hot and steamy scenes between them... I was literally squealing in my seat because I was lapping up every single word, every single page, the writing was... Glorious.

  • Then the ending came all too soon, just because I really didn't want to say goodbye to these two characters (even though I know there are two other books following the other sisters and they might make an appearance). But that ending was so sad and hopeful, and so realistic, completely wrapped up with human flaws and the growth that comes from that. There's literally nothing that could have made it better for me.

  • Applause for the author making sure that each of these characters were continuously working on themselves further proving the point that you can always work on yourself even when you're in a relationship. Applause for the author for showing that communication can be rocky, it can be so hard, but it's not impossible and even adults can get it wrong sometimes. And lastly, applause for the author for writing this beautiful brand new favorite contemporary read of mine.

Overall thoughts:

Highly recommend if you couldn't tell.

 

More for Get a Life, Chloe Brown::

Buy it on Amazon!

Check it out on Goodreads!

 

If you liked this, then you may like:

Beach Read by Emily Henry

I'll Be the One by Lyla Lee

The Bride Test by Helen Hoang


6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page