top of page
  • Review by Dorothy Requina

Counting Down With You by Tashie Bhuiyan

4 stars! Spoiler-free review!

Debut novel by Tashie Bhuiyan did not disappoint!

  • I loved that Karina knew herself, knew who she was on the inside and in relation to her family and friends

    • She had her boundaries, and she wasn’t afraid to say them out loud and expect people to abide by them

  • Her friends were amazing, such wonderful sources of support through thick and thin

  • Her family sucked, but is a very accurate representation of different standards between brother and sister and within ethnic families vs American families

  • And the arguably most important part, the romance:

    • Love the forced proximity of her having to “tutor” Ace

    • Ace himself is actually wonderful, damn near perfect actually, and sometimes that bothered me. Don't hate me, this is a personal preference, but like Ace was almost too perfect??? I don’t know why but because he like never actually messed up or caused problems or had any issues, he just seemed that much more fictional without any true flaws.

    • But I LOVE how he treated her, obeyed all her boundaries, a truly loyal and supportive man (girlfriends wound approve)

    • Ace LISTENS too! And that was super nice to see in YA romance. He heard her boundaries and he tried to understand them. *Even if he couldn't fully understand them, he never crossed her boundaries.*

      • *Arguably my favorite thing about this romance

  • The plot was very cute and wholesome

  • The ending was adorable and everything you want out of happy ending in a YA contemporary.

VERY excited to read her next book! I am part of the Tashie fan club now.


Side note: I almost always give 4 stars to all contemporaries even if I fully loved them, it’s really hard for me to give them pure 5/5 stars unless I was bawling my eyes out at some point which I didn’t for this one. Still enjoyed it tons though!

 

More for Counting Down With You:

Buy it on Amazon!

Check it out on Goodreads!

 

If you like this, then you may like:

A Pho Love Story by Loan Le

Frankly in Love by David Yoon

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page