top of page
  • Taran Matharu

Battlemage


4.25 stars! This review will be spoiler free!

Synopsis: Fletcher and friends have escapes the clutches of the orcs, but to do so had to enter the realm of the demons. Traveling through the ether, they avidly search for a way back to the human dimension. What they don't know is that things in the human world will not be any easier. Fletcher has no choice, but to become a leader quickly and learn how to govern a people and lead an army to save his land and home. Initial thoughts: This book tore my heart apart. The beginning was suspenseful as anything. The middle had me on the edge of my seat with all the political maneuvering. The ending, the final battle was INTENSE and omg, tears. Actual tears formed as I was reading that last stand. Things I loved: 1) Fletcher became a man in this book, a leader. 2) So much political intrigue! 3) Heart racing, action packed battle scenes. 4) Taran was not afraid to do what some authors can't, and that is let beloved characters die. 5) The demons are so CUTE. If there was something I had to complain about it would be that I'm not sure I quite believe how easily Fletcher came into his position as a Lord? Maybe? Still, his character development throughout this book and even from book one atones for how much he had to grow up. Also this book and series still gives me more middle grade feels than YA feels. Plot: First of all, if you at all like the “magical boarding school” scenario and demon companions that are more on the Pokemon side than scary side, then you should definitely read this book! This finale had even more of those Pokemon vibes with what we find out about cute little Ignatius in the ether. SO! The book starts right from where that cliffhanger in the last book left off and already Taran immerses you into their world, or rather, the ether. A dangerous and creepy place at times, but we immediately befriend Sheldon! Sheldon, a giant turtle of sorts, is legitimately one of my favorite characters we meet in this finale. From here, intermittent periods of action, chasing, sneaking, and battling, blood, loss, and love ensue. However, I still felt like this book was much more middle grade than young adult. Though these characters have grown older, the overall feels of the story scream middle grade action and adventure than the YA kinda action and adventure (aka much less romance and little to no angst). I cannot say much about the plot for fear of giving away spoilers, but there are somethings I can talk about over all. This book was very politically heavy. There was a lot of political maneuvering and leading happening. I was so proud, actually PROUD, of Fletcher and the man he became in this book. Though! He maybe had grown into his leadership position almost toooooo flawlessly to the point where I may not have been able to believe it all the way… I still enjoyed seeing him evolve in this book. Then we have this crazy final battle we’ve all been waiting for. TEARS. I shed SO MANY tears throughout the whole last 25% of this book because Taran was not afraid to make you feel the loss of beloved characters and demons. Taran made this battle last and last and last and the writing and imagery and feeling make you never want to stop reading. Definitely brought back feelings from when I read Deathly Hallows, ACOWAR, and King’s Cage. Battlemage wrapped up Fletcher’s story quite nicely. Somethings were left to the imagination, while others left me very very satisfied with the outcome. I’m so happy this book did not disappoint me. Characters: FLETCHER you’ve already heard me rave about so many times. So I shall not take too much time to continue raving about how much of a MAN he became in this book. Someone worth trusting and following, a leader through and through even when his young heart shows at times. SILVA I had my qualms about. Sometimes I liked her, sometimes I didn’t. Sometimes I felt she was too heartless, sometimes I felt like she was stringing Fletcher along. In the end though, she did win me over. She’s an incredible fighting, I’ll give her that. OTHELLO is a true true friend. Fletcher and Othello’s friendship was my favorite in this story. They overcame prejudice, they overcame hardships, AND their families even accept each other’s families. Who wouldn’t want that. Fletcher’s SOLDIERS! Such hard workers and all loyal to their Lord! I love them for being so fierce even in the face of imminent danger and death! And thank Gods their actually smart and can think up good battle plans. TRIUMVERATE… no words for their despicableness. And to children. UGH. Overall: This was my favorite book in the series. And this series as a whole encompassed many of my favorite things: magic and cute demon companions, fast-paced heart-racing battle scenes, intertwining of lives lost and friendships made, very subtle romantic subplot, and some wonderful characters arcs. I’d give this series an overall rating of 4 stars. Solid solid 4 stars. It’s a great story with more middle grade vibes and adventures though the characters are growing up and older by the end of the series. I’m excited to read more from this author.

4 views0 comments
bottom of page