top of page
  • S. J. Kincaid

The Diabolic


4.5 stars! This review will be spoiler free!

Synopsis:

Nemesis is a Diabolic. A genetically modified humanoid creation, lacking any sort of humanity, made to be the fiercest protector for the human they are bonded to. Nemesis is bonded to Sidonia, the heir to Senator Impyrean who is a known heretic among the other grandiloquy of the galactic empire. Whent he emperor becomes angered by Senator Impyrean's recent actions against him, the emperor decides to strike against him by summoning his daughter Sidonia to court as a hostage. Sweet, gentle Sidonia cannot take care of herself amongst court liars and deceivers. To protect her, Nemesis must become her, taking her place at court.

Nemesis must conceal her strength and learn the etiquette required to hide her Diabolic identity and become Sidonia Impyrean. Court, is everything and nothing like what she expects. Many people are untrustworthy snakes, but she is also able to make friends and allies. What she really doesn't expect to find at court is her humanity, a feeling that may be stronger than the bond between her and Sidonia. The deeper into court Nemesis gets, the more she realizes the Empire is on the brink of rebellion between the Helionics and Heretics. She is soon to find herself as a driving force of the rebellion with a highly unlikely partner.

Thoughts:

4.5 stars! BUT! That is more reflective of my overall enjoyment of the book. If I were to re-rate this based on how I feel about the content, I'd maybe give it 4 stars instead? This book was so much more than I expected it to be. I'm realizing that when I go into book not knowing much of anything besides the basics (in this case that you have a girl with a protective diabolic who has to take her place in order to protect her), I end up loving the book so much more! I heard this book is supposed to be dystopian, which there are some dystopian elements, but it's definitely a sci-fi read. There's political intrigue within the grandiloquy. There are very sneaky, very clever power plays in this unique hierarchical society. There is an awesome and touching love/devotion relationship between two female characters. Some morally grey, murky friendships and alliances are made. And last, but not least, you have a badass female lead. Read it, just do yourself a favor, and get into this series!

**Read this book using Audible! The narrator is amazing at catching Nemesis's affect and the tone for Tyrus and Sidonia so well! It had me captured the whole time!**

Plot:

When I started this book, I immediately knew that this intergalactic empire was on the brink of revolution given the information about Sidonia’s father and how offended the empire was regarding his heresy. I also already knew which side I was favoring obviously because who could ever dislike progression other than the oppressive.

I live for Sidonia and Nemesis’s relationship. Yes, Nemesis was bonded to her, but Sidonia was never forced to love her back, but she did. Their devotion and love for each other is admirable and when certain things later on a revealed, it all makes so much sense! I loved that “little development” so so so much. Sidonia is just so sweet and Nemesis her complete opposite. They fit as friends so perfectly.

S. J. Kincaid also wasn’t shy from breaking your heart. She was not afraid for people to die to achieve that revolutionary ending. She was not afraid to put our characters in extreme mortal danger. She was not afraid to show you exactly what you expect human emotions and actions to be if this were reality.

That may be my favorite thing about this book now that I think of it! It’s very revealing of what real humans would act like in certain situations. If you were lied to by someone you thought you had an alliance and friendship with, they would not just forgive you right off the bat like we see in some YA novels. If you were to fall in love with someone who you honestly do not completely know yet, you would not have a bulletproof belief in their genuine goodness, you would have doubts. And given the opportunity to have your revenge (and the fire of a very short temper), you would want to exact revenge. It’s human nature, human tendencies, that play a huge role in the movement of this plot and this plot was made to be believable.

I felt surprised, not just by how much I loved this book, but by how much of this plot I couldn’t predict on my own (I’m usually pretty good at that). There were some aspects that I knew were guaranteed: Nemesis and Tyrus for example who I will touch on next, but still. Much of the ending and little twists here and there throughout the plot added depth and complexity to the plot.

Lastly I wanna talk about the main ship in this book. Nemesis and Tyrus, obviously destined from first sight, were borderline insta-love. I do like that they had their up and downs again adding to what makes this book feel real and believable. They had their struggles and I appreciate them because it makes their love all the more burning. I’m not super harsh with my characterization of what is and isn’t insta-love, but this could have been pushing it for me. Especially Certain exclamations made towards the end of the book, though I can’t say I’m not happy they were made. It’s why we have book two after all!

I’m SO EXCITED for book two! I read this just in time to find out the sequel comes out in 2 months!

Dislikes:

If I have any real gripes, I feel that where this book was lacking was in the world building. I couldn't picture the Impyrean fortress, which I wasn't sure was a ship or planet or floating debris in space? I also couldn't really picture the court where Nemesis was sent to (the name of the place the royals and nobles reside is escaping me). I couldn't tell if it was a conglomeration of ships, or ships surrounding a floating building, but I knew there were like 6 suns? It's a weird world and I'm not 100% in agreement with the actual science of how all these places would actually exist because I don't think any of this could actually play out.

Lastly, I felt like we need more history to how the world progressed to this era. We don't know much other than education leading us to here and education being banned because of a new religion of Helionics that doesn't agree with science. I don't know, altogether, very weird indeed.

Characters:

NEMESIS is 100% the reason why I would recommend this book to many sci-fi lovers. Her character development/arc was perfectly intertwined with the movement of the revolution. She is a strong, skilled, female fighter. She is slowly discovering herself and her humanity. She is not necessarily morally grey like I’d call Tyrus, but more like she was raised to act a certain way and that may mean she’s not always the good guy making good decisions. Nemesis is one hell of a character and I’m so happy she never had that weird “vulnerable female YA lead” tendency to make stupid decisions. All her actions made sense and I feel for her so much! Can’t wait to see what amazingness she will bring about in The Empress.

TYRUS is what I would call morally grey. AGAIN adding to the realness of this story. He is completely honest in his ambitions and how he plans to make them come to fruition. That honesty and brutality is needed in a leader of a nation as bloodthirsty as this one. I’m so glad Kincaid did not make him a weak pushover all loving type of character. Tyrus is also the type of character that is always willing to be a better person and become what he thinks is needed for the entirety of the empire to progress in the right direction, whether that leaves behind disbelievers or not.

SIDONIA is the sweetest, most precious little puppy. I love her simply because she loves Nemesis with all her heart. She is literally the only pureness in this book, a dove in a sea of snakes. Her character was a much needed breather of naivety and vulnerability amongst all the lies and treachery of the empire.

CYGNA is one evil bitch. So is her son, the EMPEROR, who actual name I cannot recall again. They made some sick and sneak villains. Emphasis on the sick for the Emperor. He was cruel and an idiot. Cygna was more refined in her power hungry control of the empire. Still, she has one heartless black soul.

Overall:

I am so pleasantly surprised by how FUN this book was to read. Do yourself a favor and go into this without expectation or any thought on the synops. Just do it. Go in with open mind. Forget about dystopian. Forget about anything else you may know. You may find yourself as blown away as I was!

24 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page