top of page
  • Ransom Riggs

Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children


2 stars! This review will contain no spoilers!

Summary:

This is the first book in a series by Ransom Riggs called Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children. Jacob Portman’s grandfather has told him many stories about his childhood that would be considered strange to any other adult. Jacob definitely looks up to his grandfather, but his grandfather can be a little mysterious. When something tragic happens to him leaving Jacob scarred, he sets off to uncover the truths about his grandfather by going to the place where he grew up: an abandoned orphanage on a mysterious island.

I wanted to love this book especially with the upcoming movie, but I was pretty disappointed. There were some things I liked about this book like how even though the heart-racing moments were few and in between, they were exciting and suspenseful. I thought that learning about the peculiarities of all the children was cool and they all seem to have very distinct personalities. The imagery is amazing and the photos that accompanied the story added to that! And there was even a small part in the end between Jacob and his dad that I enjoyed because the sarcasm actually worked that time. Despite all that, there was a lot that I did NOT like which led to me giving this book the low rating. The worst thing about this book in my opinion was that it took WAY TOO LONG for something crazy with the demon-things to happen. And then it turned out that the demon-things (they're not actually called that in the book obviously) were pretty lame. I thought they would have menacing powers and be super duper creepy, but I was not creeped out in the least bit. When the kids were engaged in a serious battle with them, I wasn't even mentally cheering them on because I just felt so unenthused. And even though the imagery Riggs created was so vivid, I have to say his metaphors were kinda awful. Some of the things he compared certain scenes to I was thinking, "Of all the things... You pick that?"

*I read this using Audible! Jesse Bernstein was not my most favorite narrator. I thought he read slow and didn't put inflection in the voices in a way that kept me captivated. I would not recommend his Audible for this book.*

Plot:

“Slow slow slow, omg yes it’s getting good, no no wait, slow slow slow…”

That was how the pacing felt for this entire book. Every time I thought the book was picking up, it slowed back down again making me want to put the book down. Not only that, but it took so long for Jacob to even get to the island. Then when he was there, it took even longer for something remotely interesting to happen. Then let’s add in all the info-dumpy dialogue that happened throughout the whole second half of the book.

The peculiars were one thing I really liked. They seemed to retain their kiddish personalities that were distinct for each of them. Millard is my favorite of course. He’s got a sassy mouth on him. Now, some of the kids had powers that could have been really dangerous. I was so confused as to why they were shown practicing with them as a defense. Maybe it’s just because this was the first book, but I felt like the potential in the powers for some of the kids wasn’t being used to the fullest. Speaking of protection, why did Miss Peregrine choose not to have some of the kids with dangerous powers train? Or did they and it just wasn’t in this book? It seemed like she cared more about teaching the kids proper manners than how to prepare themselves for an emergency.

The bad-guys that I will call demons for now, but are called something else in the book, they were super lame. I felt like they’re purpose for being evil was weak, they had no menacing abilities, and weren’t even that creepy.

Lastly, how I knew I wasn’t enjoying this story when I didn’t find myself cheering on the “good guys” and wanting them to succeed… Something must’ve gone wrong with my overall enjoyment of the book if that happens.

I basically ranted so much on all the things I didn’t liked, but everything that I did like was already in my summary.

Characters: (there are so many so I can’t get to them all)

Jacob was not an annoying main character. He was pretty logical, which I liked. I’m glad he really thought out all of his decisions before making them. That was my favorite quality about him.

Emma rubbed me the wrong way when met her, but she started to grow on me by the end.

Bronwyn is legit, the coolest, most badass in this book. She says what she’s gonna do and goes through with it without even blinking.

Millard is the sassy smart mouth and I really enjoyed him for the comic relief.

Miss Peregrine seems to really love her wards and though I question her choices in raising them, her powers as an ymbryne are so cool.

Overall:

I mean I would like to finish this trilogy eventually, but I have no inclination to buy the rest of the books any time soon. Maybe if the movie is a success and another one is being made I’ll read the book before the next movie comes out.

Who's going to watch the movie regardless of the book? Me. ;D

5 views0 comments
bottom of page