top of page
  • Marissa Meyer

Stars Above


4 stars! Some stories I loved more than others, but altogether I enjoyed this one. This review will contain no spoilers for Stars Above (but there are hints to the relationships in the actual series).

Summary:

This is an addition to the Lunar Chronicles and is a collection of backstories that were mentioned in Cinder, Scarlet, Cress, and Winter, but the last story is an epilogue that includes all the precious characters from all the books!

I just really really really missed Marissa Meyer’s writing and this futuristic world and all the little stories were quite wonderful reads. Not all of them were particularly spectacular, BUT the last one (which is the epilogue) was SO AMAZING. Would have given that story alone 5 stars, without a doubt.

*Also, I read this book using Audible! The narrator for this series, Rebecca Soler, is PERFECT when she's doing all the different voices and she adds the right kind of emotion to her narrating! There’s never a moment when you’re confused on who’s voice she’s doing, it’s so crazy to think it’s only her doing the narration.

My Thoughts for Each Story:

The Keeper was a story in the POV of Michelle Benoit and was about how Selene came to be under her guardianship. This was one of the longer stories and I truly enjoyed it. Alone I’d give this one 4.5 stars.

Glitches came next and is a story on its own, but follows right where The Keeper left off. This one is about Cinder’s first few weeks as a cyborg adjusting to what is a brand new world to her within the Linh family. This one was pretty emotional and I also loved it. I think my eyes watered a couple times reading this one. 5 stars.

The Queen’s Army is basically Wolf’s backstory, but in this one he goes by “Z.” This was one of those tortured beginning that just frustrates you the whole time, until something good happens. I think since Wolf isn’t exactly one of my faves in the series, I only gave this story 3 stars.

Cardwell’s Guide to Being Lucky was a funny one. I think this one had the least amount of seriousness. It’s really just a story from Thorne’s childhood and his personality in this story kinda made me not like him when he was a kid, but I still majorly love him and Cress. I think his story is about 3 stars, too.

After Sunshine Passes By is Cress’s backstory! I thought this one was one we had a little bit more of an idea from details in the series, but actually reading it made me a little sad because she seemed so impossibly brainwashed. This was a super short one and I gave it 3 stars.

The Princess and the Guard included Winter and Jacin and SO CUTE. Winter was a totally different girl in her backstory, Jacin was more or less the same. Their childhood relationship was so freakin’ cute though. I love them together even more after this story. It’s not all love and joy though, because... Yenno… Levana. I gave this story 4 stars!

The Little Android was a story that didn’t have anything to do with the main characters, but was a quick little Little Mermaid retelling. One of the main characters does make a cameo! I don’t know why, I might’ve missed something, but the end of this story did confuse me. Either way, solid 3 stars story.

Lastly, there’s Something Old, Something New! This one. Is THE ONE. The one I was waiting for the whole collection to read. And it ALMOST satisfied the cravings in my heart for a happy ending for everyone. I still wanted more from Kai and Cinder, but things still happened that made my heart just pour over with FEELS. I have to give this last epilogue 5 stars because I was just smiling the entire time. ALL THESE SHIPS ARE JUST THE BEST.

Overall:

I still want more! But I loved it all! So happy to have picked up and finished the entire Lunar Chronicles (except Fairest, but I don’t think I’ll get that.. who knows). Ahhh, bitter sweet goodbye to all these amazing characters and this amazing world.

Thanks for reading! :)

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page