top of page
  • Review by Dorothy Requina

Their Fractured Light by Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner


4 stars! This review will contain no spoilers for Their Fractured Light, but if you have not read the first two books, there will be spoilers for These Broken Stars and This Shattered World!

Summary:

Their Fractured Light is the third book in the Starbound Trilogy by Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner. In this final book, we follow a new couple before everyone comes together for the ending.

On the planet of Corinth, where LaRoux Industries main headquarters is located, there is a boy called Gideon who is the most infamous hacker of the age: The Knave of Hearts. Sofia Quinn is a little newer to the planet. She has the most insane persuasive abilities and can maneuver herself though any situation with her smile and some smooth words. She blames LaRoux for the death of her father who was taken over by the Fury back on Avon and is out for blood. In the beginning of the book, Sofia walks in on Gideon messing with the computer system in a room at headquarters. Both of these people have their own reasons for wanting to take down LaRoux Industries and when a security breech alarm goes off, they end up stuck working together to escape. And their story takes off from there!

I'm so happy that this book was an even bigger improvement than book two. Having thought book one was really bad, book two was okay, book three was GREAT! This one had so much more action and suspense woven into the plot. Almost every moment was intense because Gideon and Sofia were running away from something or trying to save someone. Also, the two main characters had way more personality and fire and brightness. There was also a good amount of sarcasm added into the dialogue, which I can always appreciate. Literally, the amazingness of the relationship between Gideon and Sofia starts at chapter two (when you're in Gideon's POV)! Lastly, if you're reading this series, I'm sure you know that all the couples from the former books have to come together in some sort of way right? Let me tell you that, the way the ending goes down in this last book... It's EPIC. I loved every single moment of the last 60 pages, but especially the last 25 pages!

Plot:

There are three parts of the plot that I want to talk about without totally giving away everything. One, is the relationship between Gideon and Sofia. First of all Gideon is a hacker and a freakin’ amazing one at that. I love me a good hacker in a book. Then Sofia is just so smart and quick thinking, they fit so well together. Like I said above, within the first two chapters I was already hooked because the action was already picking up. The two main characters were already working together. I just lived for them in those first few moments especially when Gideon made a nickname for Sofia before he knew her name. I really enjoyed this relationship because there was more heartbreak between them, more emotions raging between these two than any other couples and you could very much feel it while reading. Having two people who never show their true self interact with each other also leave a ton of suspense with all the secrets their keeping from one another. One thing that may have bothered me a little bit with them, is Gideon may have showed some insta-infatuation with Sofia.

The second part is the dialogue. Sofia was a much more serious POV to be in, but being in Gideon’s POV was the best! I mean at some point, Gideon says, “Well screw me sideways.” And I lost it, it was so funny. There are also the interchapter parts where we in the “POV” of the whispers and you get to hear their inner monologue from day one when LaRoux started messing with them all the way up to the present. These interchapters I would say are really important. Really important, so read them! They help see from the side of the whispers and help make the ending even fuller in detail.

The third part is the second half of the book. The suspense in this book never ended. There were so many surprises that kept popping up that I really truly had no clue where this ending was going to go. I had no idea how they were going to live, how they were going to save the human race, how anything was going to play out and it was awesome! That means that the ending of this book was the best of all three books because I couldn’t see what was coming!

There were a few things that I disliked in this book though, which added to why I had to bump this one a star down. There were quite a few times that I caught certain phrases being repeated. And not just the exact phrase repeated once or twice. It may have been 3 or even 5 times within only a few chapters. Next are the info dumps. Those parts got a bit drowsy, but despite them I still felt lost at times. I wanna say that the scenery building in this book wasn’t that great. Sometimes I was really confused on what I should have been seeing while reading. And occasionally that made me lose interest in what I was reading even if it was during an action packed scene.

Characters:

Gideon’s POV was of course my favorite. Gideon is so goofy and funny and like a happy person giving this book a much lighter feel than book two (which was a lot more serious and dismal). Even his inner thoughts were dead funny during some parts. Sofia is just all over the place (in a good way). She’s so hard to predict and I like that. Her quick thinking and smooth talking skills get her and Gideon out of a lot of sticky situations. Though these two guards their hearts and minds like no other, they fit so well together. And I have to say, they are my favorite couple in the whole trilogy. That probably also because they had WAY more ups and downs with trust and love. That rollercoaster was NOT fun, but still great to ride. I’m happy basically happy if Gideon is happy because he’s just... wonderful.

Overall:

As a whole series, I'd rate this trilogy maybe around 3 stars. Overall, I liked how the stories of these three couples came full circle. The writing improved immensely as I picked up the next book and the next. There was such a huge jump between my enjoyment level during the first book to now. I'm actually really happy I pushed through and finished though. Their Fractured Light made reading this whole trilogy very much worth it.

Thanks for reading! :)

44 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page