top of page
  • Review & Discussion by Dorothy Requena

The House of Hades by Rick Riordan


This is a long one. So be ready. Because this book was AWESOME! 5/5!

Summary/Non-Spoilery Review:

*IF YOU HAVEN’T READ THE FIRST THREE BOOKS, THIS WILL CONTAIN SPOILERS*

So Percy and Annabeth are in Tartarus and have to first, find a way to survive it’s deathly atmosphere. Then they have to navigate their way to the Doors of Death. All without getting killed by the monsters that are reforming there. The rest of the crew has to find a way to the House of Hades. Not only that, but they encounter so many obstacles along the way that, of course, nearly get them killed every time. Back in New York, the Roman legions are trying to attack Camp Half-Blood which makes everyone of the seven worry, but they can’t do anything. This leaves it all up to Reyna and her capable self.

There are old characters back again and lots of new characters introduced. Faces are finally given to the mystery monsters in everyone’s visions. There is trial and trial after trial. This book is basically a whole thrill ride! The feels never end with this one and all it’s chapter cliff hangers when the point of views switch. For me, this was the best book of the series so far. I have yet to finish Blood of Olympus, but I’m reading it as I make this review!

*SPOILERY DISCUSSION BEGINS HERE*

Plot: So the plot basically has 2.5 sides. Percabeth, the rest of the seven, and then visions of Reyna back in New York.

Let's start with Percy and Annabeth!

There was endless struggle in their chapters. They have to go through so much when they’re in Tartarus that, you really feel every single one of their emotions. They each are trying to hide how they feel from the other to keep each other in good spirits, but you as the reader know exactly what they are thinking and it is just a dump of sadness and exhaustion and omg will they ever make it there. Alllllllll of that makes the triumph when they reach the Doors of Death and make it back into the mortal world that much more gratifying. I also think that when they were in Tartarus, you get this nostalgic feeling as old enemies keep popping up and you think back to when that battle happened. I was always like, “Oh yeah, Percy/Annabeth did defeat that one guy…” and EACH TIME, they re-defeat them with trickery. Every battle is literally won with wits and I would be laughing so hard sometimes because Annabeth just comes up with the greatest ways to confuse her enemies like when they were up against Night. Anyways, lots of cute moments between Percabeth. There is actually more touchy lovey stuff going on in this series compared to PJO which I enjoy because it’s subtle and tasteful. LOVE THEM. #ishipthemforever

Onto the crew… This is where the comedic relief in this book was at a maximum. I do not think I went a single chapter without laughing out loud (even in public) at least once. Let’s go over this somewhat chronologically:

1. The dwarfs vs. Leo and Jason – Who ends up incapacitated? Jason. Who saves the day? Leo. And then Jason makes a wasted grand entrance and Leo is like.. Sorry dude, already packing up.

2. The ship vs. the turtle – Who makes a stupid attempt to attack an impenetrable turtle and loses his sword? Jason. Who saves the day? Hazel. Here is where Hazel becomes very badass and manipulates the Mist. She just gets better and better. She pulled Jason’s sword out of the ocean from so far away and was like “Ain’t no thang.” And kills Sciron, too.

3. Khione vs. Piper – I say versus Piper only because who again, becomes incapacitated? Jason. Turned right into a popsicle. Piper saves the day by charm speaking Festus to life. She also grows into her powers and it’s amazing how much of a difference she makes when she learned to fight too.

4. Ogygia – My heart strings were in shambles by the end of these few chapters. I knew Leo and Calypso would fall in love. They had too, but it wasn’t in that love at first sight way, or even cutesy way. They yelled at each other and fought basically until he left. In Leo’s mind, he was always fighting his feelings for her that it made me laugh. Like no, Leo.. You know you lover her already. And when he left and said, “...I swear on the River Styx.” I just couldn’t. They need to be together. #ishipthemforevertoo

5. House of Hades – Now Nico is supposed to summon the dead Romans and Jason is supposed to lead them. Supposed to, but they all ignore him. I was already like, Frank. Frank. Frank. Where are you?! And they Jason promotes Frank midbattle and he start spewing latin orders like a real commander. Frank has GROWN. He has changed physically and mentally and is taking charge and being all confident and stuff. It’s working for him.

Can I also mention that Jason managed to get himself blacked out while fighting venti in midair. Like Jason.. C’mon you fight them all the time. He is nearly the group's biggest klutz LOL. I love him though.

I love all the characters!

I’ve pretty much discussed most of them already in the plot up there, but a few I haven’t mentioned like:

Nico. Nico has a big reveal in this book and can I just say… I want some Nico fanfic now. Just to see where that would go. Yeah, I’m weird. Still, Nico NEEDS a happy ending. Please. I actually like Nico unlike most people. Even though his loyalty is questionable sometimes, I know he’s good. And his internal struggle is a hard one. Gotta admire him for that.

There’s also Bob. I love Bob. I know, I know, I love everyone, but Bob is the best. Without him, we would not have Percy and Annabeth right now. He saves their butts and remains loyal even after he finds out what Percy did. He’s simple-minded, but so smart at the same time. He’s strong and caring and has a “small Bob” that turns into a sabertooth. How cool is that. And Damasen comes into play too in the end. Helping Percabeth excape Tartarus. They’re both brave and awesome characters.

3 views0 comments
bottom of page