top of page
  • Dorothy Requina

Kingdom of Ash and Briars Blog Tour: Hannah West's Writing Playlist


I only recently finished Kingdom of Ash and Briars and I really enjoyed it! I found that this book was an impressive debut novel from the author, Hannah West. I actually discovered this book through recommendations on Goodreads and when Holiday House contacted me to not only review an ARC, but participate in this blog your, how could I not say YES! It was the different aspects of retellings that caught my eye. I thought, "how in the world can you combine such different fairytales," but West did it! And it was creative, romantic, and thrilling! If you want to read my full review its right here: check me out!

I think that KOAAB is a great pick up for those just introducing themselves to young adult fantasy. I mean if you love Disney stories, magic, romance, and epic battles, why not read it?

Synopsis:

Building on homages to Cinderella, Sleeping Beauty, Jane Austen’s Emma and the Chinese legend of Hua Mulan, Hannah West makes a spectacular and wholly original debut.

Bristal, a sixteen-year-old kitchen maid, lands in a fairy tale gone wrong when she discovers she has elicromancer magic in her blood. Elicromancers are an ancient breed of immortal people, but only two remain in Nissera. Bristal joins the ranks of Brack and Tamarice without knowing that one of them has a dark secret . . . Tamarice is plotting a quest to overthrow the realm’s nobility and take charge herself. Together, Bristal and Brack must guard Nissera against black elicromancy. There are cursed princesses to protect, royal alliances to forge and fierce monsters to battle—all with the hope of preserving peace.

You can find more information on this gorgeous novel at Holiday House or Goodreads! For purchase, you can find KOAAB on Amazon!

 

Let's get to the music!

"Music is such a good tool for brainstorming, but it has to fit the mood and the world. Otherwise, it’s just flat-out distracting to me. The songs I included in the KOAAB playlist are ethereal and transportive. Sigur Ros frames the beginning and the end in my mind, with low-key “Sæglópur” introducing us to the mystery of Bristal’s world and her powers, while triumphant “Hoppípolla” brings it home at the end (don't worry: no spoilers here). The intensity of “Glass” by Bat for Lashes not only got me in the mood to write an epic battle scene but actually helped foster ideas. I added songs throughout the revision process, including some of my favorites from recent Disney movies.

With my southern gothic/paranormal work-in-progress (which will probably be renamed down the road), the mood is smoky and southern and contemporary, which made it a lot easier to curate songs. You can check both playlists out below!"

- Hannah West

Here you can check out Hannah's Spotify writing playlist! I love ALL of the songs in this playlist especially "Never Let Me Go" by Florence + The Machine because Florence is just so amazing and "Glass" by Bat for Lashes! I actually like to listen to this when I'm studying because a lot of the songs are soothing. If her new work-in-progress interests you, here is her WIP writing playlist!

 

Get to know Hannah West:

Hannah has swooned over fantasy and fairy tales since before she wrote her first story about a runaway princess living on top of a flagpole with two loves of bread. Kingdom of Ash and Briars is her first novel, which she began as a college junior while studying abroad in Orléans, France. She freelance writes for Modernize.com about renewable energy and sustainable living, and lives in Rockwall, Texas, with her husband and their rambunctious blue heeler.

Holiday House Publishing: Twitter | Facebook | Instagram | Pinterest

 

Don't forget to check out all the other bloggers in the tour! They all have amazing posts to share!

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

*Hiatus*

So I won't really be posting my reviews on this blog anymore. Once I start residency in June, I doubt I'll have time if ever to truly catch up on writing reviews when I finish books. If possible I wil

Most Anticipated Releases of 2022!

So I've finally had the chance to watch many of my fave booktuber's most anticipated release vids and looks through many Goodreads 2022 lists to ultimately curate a LONG list of books I'm excited for

bottom of page